We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful restaurant”

Williams Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I were married in Tewin Bury Farm in July 2011 but had never visited the restaurant. Given the incredible standard of the food at our wedding, we decided to remedy this on my 40th birthday in June. I'm glad we did.

The surroundings are still spectacular, parking is easy (even though there were two weddings being held) and the staff are still as good as I've experienced anywhere.

The food really was exceptional. For starters we both had the black pudding poached egg. I like to considerate myself something of a black pudding connoisseur (no, really) and I was very, very impressed with it in scotch egg form. As a main, I had the brilliant pork belly dish, while my wife had the sea bass. Again, both were outstanding. Throughout the service was helpful while unobtrusive. The cost, while by no means cheap, was very reasonable given the high standard of the food and the setting.

We'll definitely be going back. Tewin Bury Farm just seems to get everything right.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardGardham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, it is always lovely to see our past brides & grooms returning to us!

We were very pleased to read your enjoyed your lunch with us (and even more pleased to received such praise from a black pudding connoisseur) and hope that we will see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    33
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendon, London United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family reunoin lunch”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First visit here and absolutely wonderful. Food excellent. What could be better than a 3 course meal with a large glass of wine for £15. Very good choice on menu,served beautifully and staff very friendly.Will definitely be goin back.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnSmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, our 2 course lunch with a glass of wine has proved very popular and will continue during the Summer so we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent food but...”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were recently taken here by friends and very much enjoyed the food. The menu offered a variety of attractive sounding dishes and the ingredients and the cooking were of a high standard - and at a very reasonable price.
I wish I could say the same of the serving staff. One young man was quite friendly, but the other two were arrogant and off hand. Conversations were loudly interrupted when the waitress wanted to announce something ; tables and dishes were cleared away in a very noisy manner ; a forgotten glass of wine eventually appeared with no hint of an apology. Since this was also the comment of a previous customer, I suggest the management needs to look into this area ; the kitchen itself needs no investigation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our restaurant. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. Where possible our Executive Chef selects seasonal, local produce of the highest standard to create our menus. I am so sorry to hear that you were kept waiting for your wine and that in some cases our service fell below the standard you expected. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to our Management Team. We do hope that if you are in the local area again that you will visit us and allow us the opportunity to improve your experience with us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best afternoon tea EVER ”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

After reading the review below I felt I needed to put a review in myself.
I came here a few weeks back for afternoon tea with some girlfriends. What a outstanding place. Not only is it a beautiful setting, the cakes were outstanding and The home made scone were to die for. Hats off to the chefs.
From the moment we walked in we were very welcome. The lady who severed us (charlotte) was funny, polite and efficient. She made our experience memorable. I have been to many places for afternoon tea and I would say this is among the best. I will be returning ASAP.

Helpful?
2 Thank Evian15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea experience. I am delighted to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. I am so pleased that you found time to explore our beautiful grounds and gardens. I am glad that Charlotte looked after you so well and that you enjoyed our scones; I will certainly pass on your comments to Charlotte and our Executive Chef. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Terrible service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a loyalty member and regular customer, I was very disappointed with my experience here today. My partner and I went for lunch and we both felt the service by the lady in charge was very poor - sullen, bullish and as if we were something on the bottom of her shoe. We had just come from a business meeting and we were looking forward to the usual friendly and smiling welcome we have got in the past from the usually excellent staff. A really rubbish experience today and sadly I don't think I can be bothered to go back.
Mrs H

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsHH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWalsh2011, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you are a regular customer and a member of our loyalty card scheme. However I am saddened to hear that on this occasion you did not feel that our service met our normally high standard. As a loyal customer we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Williams Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Williams Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing