We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for old movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of CW Entertainment

CW Entertainment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: CW Entertainment (previously Campus West) is one of the most popular entertainment destinations in Hertfordshire. CW Entertainment currently comprises the Welwyn Garden City Cinema, RollerCity, Soft Play City, Hawthorne Theatre and Humphrey's Coffee Shop. Welwyn Garden City Cinema boosts 3 cinemas all screening the latest blockbusters from only £5.50! You could get this even cheap by getting a FREE Zebra Card. RollerCity is the only purpose-built Roller Rink in Hertfordshire. Come along to our unlimited sessions or why not have your party here? Soft Play City is great for the whole family. With three dedicated age zones - Baby, Toddler and Junior - its plenty to keep them busy! Adults get the chance to relax too in our comfortable seating areas. We have a whole range of party options that suit everyone. Hawthorne Theatre is the home to the yearly Pantomime with is always a Humphrey's is our comfortable, fully furnished cafe and bar. Complete with a balcony area for those lovely summer days. It's ideal for those quiet chats with friends and family - or just putting your feet up for some 'me-time'. Enjoy a delicious Starbucks coffee, with perhaps a fresh sandwich or an indulgent cake, and forget all about the stresses of modern life - and with free wi-fi, it really is a home away from home! We serve a range of food including: Breakfast, Fresh salads, Pannini, Sandwiches, Deli rolls, Toasties, Wraps, Jacket Potatoes, Kids meals and snacks Why not get a Zebra Card, it's completely free and allows you to get up to 40% discount at CW Entertainment
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good for old movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

It's a nice small cinema runner by people passionate about films, so they show both new ones and old films. I went there for "Nuovo Cinema Paradiso", and it was fantastic. The pricer is very reasonable: during the weekdays is cheap, on Thursday there is a 2-for-1 offer and during the weekends the price rice a little bit but it's still very reasonable. You can also have for free the zebra card, with a 15% discount on the ticket price and 10% on food. Staff is very friendly, the seats are comfortable and after the cinema you can go to the nice café where on Sunday evenings there is a jazz performance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dopodipioggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    20
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Marvelous Marilyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I saw "The Unremarkable Death of Marilyn Monroe" at this theatre a couple of days ago.

The theatre is quite intimate, the staff are friendly and efficent. The bar is agreeable and reasonably priced.

The production was first class. The production company is called Dyad, I think. I shall certainly be visting this theatre again and I shall google Dyad with a view to getting to see more of their work. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank slimboy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Excellent for the Cinema, Plenty of space, Bar & cheap Tickets. as long as you don't mind waiting a little longer for the film releases to come out. There is only one Screen, so you need to keep an eye out on there Website for what's coming up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
266 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Excellent local cinema / theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Films for kids are only £1.50 a ticket. Sure, they are films that have been out for a few weeks already, but kids don't mind that (neither do I when you compare £1.50 to £10).

There is a café and nice seating. Prices are much more reasonable than a multiplex.

Staff are very friendly.

Seating is good - comfy and good visibility. There are just two rows that are not on an incline - I would check out which ones these are and avoid if taking little kids. I have sat right on the front row and found not enough leg room.

Cinema tickets can sell out more than a week in advance for popular films so its worth checking out the website in advance.

There are often art exhibitions in the foyer.

No baby change is the only down side.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“We're so lucky!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I am a frequent attendee of events at the Hawthorne Theatre as I'm lucky enough to be able to walk to it. Usually it's to see films as the ticket price is very reasonable. I attended my first Event cinema recently to see David Tennant in Richard 2 and I'll be back for more because I was impressed! 3D films are also available. I tend not to go to staged events but that's a matter of personal preference - there's plenty on for people who like that kind of thing. What I like best about this venue is that you don't get hords of people eating popcorn nonstop, texting on their phones and getting up to go to the loo because they've drunk a pint of coca cola! You are more likely to have a cup of coffee or a glass of wine! Long may it last!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CW Entertainment also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to CW Entertainment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing