We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Premier Inn value”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Usual Premier Inn hotel. Good value, but lacking air conditioning and so problematic dutring this heat wave. Shame about the Beefeater fast food joint next door. Recommend you walk the 5 mins into town to eat at a restaurant - much better food and service at the same price.
Otherwise good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatfield_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    240
    78
    31
    18
See reviews for
220
181
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stay at Premier Inns quite regularly but were disappointed firstly that, despite completing the online checkin form sent to us the day before arrival, we had to check in all over again when we arrived - what a waste of time! The room was unbearably warm with no air conditioning although it did have a fan which didn't really do much.
Their advertising promises "great night'a sleep". Unfortunately the mattress, usually so comfortable in Premier Inns, had a row of springs (?) sticking up ( I almost wondered in the mattress was iodide down if that's possible)
So with the mattress and the heat it most certainly did not live up to the Premier Inn promise

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JankD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We always stay at welwyn garden city and have always been very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and comfort We have stayed there several times and would stay again.
We have stayed in the premier Inn in Preston but it was an older one and we didn't like the restaurant it wasn't beefeater.The beefeater is much superior.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Only spent one night there but excellent, comfortable stay. Warned about adjacent train line but, to be honest, rarely noticed it.Comfortable, large rooms. Due to warm weather, fans already placed in rooms.Good parking.

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Such poor food and service in restaurant, noisy trains outside of rooms resulting in room very hot due not being able to open windows and definitely not good value for money. Will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Level of welcome and service afterwards was of an extremely high standard. Comfortable room and really comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I also used the dining facilities also v good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed overnight to break up a long journey, as this was preplanned I booked several weeks prior and got their £29 room deal, an amazing price.

As with all Premier Inns I have stayed at this is s good place. The chap on reception was very friendly and helpful. My room was sizeable and spotlessly clean, there was tea and coffee making equipment, a massive flatscreen tv on the wall, a hairdrier, adequate hanging space for clothes but there was not an electric shaver point and I did not have an adapter with me.

The bed was clean and very comfortable. It was a very hot day and when I got to the room my windows were open as far as they could be, which was not very far, but a large free standing fan was in the room and I put this on. I tried to sleep with the windows open but as my room overlooked the car park I was woken at 0100, 0200 and 0400 by drunken retards shouting. I should have closed the window earlier but there you go, I got an interrupted night of sleep.

I was aware that this place is adjacent to the main East Coast railway line. My room was very near to it but the line is in a cutting and as the trains all whizz by quickly there was just a bit of a muffled "whoosh" as they went by. I only heard this as I was awake, it would not have woken me.

The adjacent pub restaurant serves decent wholesome food at a reasonable price and I dined there and enjoyed it. All of the Premier Inn and Restaurant staff had obviously been to the corporate school of "smile and be chatty to the punters" and this is great.

5 stars would have been awarded but for the lack of aircon and therefore the need to open the window and be at the liberty of itinerant noisy and ignorant drunks, plus the lack of a shaver point, but I had paid £29 and overall it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The Fat Punter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
498 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,062 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing