We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go in winter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Only go in winter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Until this place gets air con in the rooms avoid it if the night time temperature is going to require you to open a window or use the fan provided.
We baked. The fan would only point at the floor and room 234 looks out on to the mainline to London so ridiculously noisy till late and then from very early.
Reception staff great, beefeater staff clueless. Breakfast was a farce, you'd have thought they'd never done it before. They ran out of tea cups, then coffee mugs then various items of the below average buffet breakfast.
Only redeeming feature of the whole experience was the good nights sleep guarantee. The number of refunds that were being given must have made the last weekend in July one of the least profitable Premier must have had at Welwyn. Premier Inn - shut it down in install air con !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    220
    73
    31
    17
See reviews for
202
172
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was very nice and the service was excellent. Much more than you would expect from a discount hotel in the USA. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The cost of the room, breakfast, and even the train ride into London was much less than the cost of a London hotel. There is 10 minute walk to the train station and a 20-30 minute train ride into London. There are four trains an hour all day long so easy location to get to. My family enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great staff. Poor quality child pull out bed, WiFi patchy at best. Worse still though was no sleep gained due to room temperature was 33 degrees C all night. Great little hotel but come on Premier Inn install Air Con to keep pace with your rivals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just returned from a two night stay with the family. Location excellent! Staff very friendly and appeared genuinely interested in ensuring we had a very pleasant stay. Only downside was no air conditioning. Otherwise excellent and would definitely recommend this Premier Inn.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 321DMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent service throughout the short stay from all concerned in making the very enjoyable. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit this part of the UK. Easy access to Welwyn Garden City by train and by road. The restaurant a typical Beefeater excellent food with plenty of choiceson the menu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a shame - a nice hot weekend spoilt by a very hot and stuffy room with no air-con and only a floor fan to circulate the hot air. Come on Premier - can't you afford Air-con in your rooms - they heat as well as cool, but you know that as you have Air-con installed at other sites

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice place but don't have any expectations that you'll receive quality service.
Staff were not helpful in hotel and restaurant.
Internet did not work and staff weren't bothered if it did or not.
Staff had poor attitude and had to wait a while before being served.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing