We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing value”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This really was like a four star hotel without the price tag, exceptionally clean and comfortable, staff were very friendly and I would recommend highly to anyone staying in the area. As a family we all enjoyed our stay and will be going back as we all thought it was just like home.


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MlA360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    233
    76
    31
    17
See reviews for
216
179
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I love that this Hotel offered guests free Wi-Fi (which was just a trail service they were doing.) The service is fantastic, there's a flat screen tv, a working fan & the room was praticually spotless. The cleaners were very polite & held doors open for us. I was impressed by their customer service skills.

However the beds were too uncomfortable for me (as I have a bad back.) We were told on the phone that they had memory foam mattresses but there weren't any. We did complain & got a refund so I am grateful for their customer service.

I didn't find it noisy like other reviews but my room faced the main car park so I recommend picking that one.

I would visit again if I had to but only if the Hotel still provided free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Pick a room that overlooks the main car park. I didn't hear much noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this to visit mum as our usual place to stay was not available. It suited us as we only needed a room and no meals. This hotel is practical, efficient and comfortable. Now does free WI-Fi - good - although only on trial. We had a room at the back which was quiet. Not sure if rooms at front would be as our suitcase made a noise on the car park. Corridor was very long, with stairs and lift at one end only - check where your room is if you don't want a long walk. Hotel was on offer, so we got a good deal. Otherwise I think it is expensive for room only.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandgrounder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent value for money, the room was clean and modern the only thing that let it down was the doors seemed to slam even when you tried to close them slowly, but that is a minor irritation.
I certainly would recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The standards of housekeeping at this hotel are exceptional - better than some 5-star hotels I have stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was ideally situated for my purpose, and we were able to arrange a very large table for a family re-union in the evening. Only downside was breakfast - not quite as good as it used to be.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here on business for two nights recently and it was pretty much as you would expect, as it was warm in the hotel, no AC but they kindly left a fan in the room which was very handy on both nights.
The breakfast in the morning was pretty much as you expect from Premier hits the spot every time.
I do have one gripe and that was on my final morning, the night before I had work on into the night to get reports written and sent knowing next morning I could lay in till about 9:00 am as I didnt have to be at the airport till lunch time, yea well thats what I thought.
Between 7:30 and 7:45 clatter clatter, bang bang, natter natter , the polish chambermaids started right outside my door and woke me up.
The amazing thing is that there are posters everywhere telling you to shush because its a quiet zone, oh really tell the maids that .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Until this place gets air con in the rooms avoid it if the night time temperature is going to require you to open a window or use the fan provided.
We baked. The fan would only point at the floor and room 234 looks out on to the mainline to London so ridiculously noisy till late and then from very early.
Reception staff great, beefeater staff clueless. Breakfast was a farce, you'd have thought they'd never done it before. They ran out of tea cups, then coffee mugs then various items of the below average buffet breakfast.
Only redeeming feature of the whole experience was the good nights sleep guarantee. The number of refunds that were being given must have made the last weekend in July one of the least profitable Premier must have had at Welwyn. Premier Inn - shut it down in install air con !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank markfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer service at Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welwyn Garden City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
2.6 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Welwyn
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Address: Stanborough Road, Welwyn Garden City AL8 6DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Welwyn Garden City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Welwyn Garden City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the doorstep of Gosling Sports Park, and just a few miles from both Hatfield and Knebworth House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Welwyn Garden City
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing