We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place.....except for the food!!”
Review of unique spice

unique spice
Ranked #24 of 198 Restaurants in Slough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$50
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Atyrau, Kz
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent place.....except for the food!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I have been here many times with family and friends. The restaurant is inviting and staff are very friendly and helpful, it is a place you can unwind and relax. The food use to be of a high standard up to the end of last year but regrettably the quality has become impaired. As reviewer "Deena5" found, as I, the chicken tikka and lamb pasanda was very tough and chewy with no taste to the meat, definitely not marinaded but thrown together. Has the chef changed, I wonder? I certainly will not going back for a number of months and I hope the chefs skills have improved by then! Meanwhile in search for something better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Petebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    11
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Tomatoes”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Visited restaurant on recommendation. Never again. Friendly staff but food poor. We had various dishes but all tasted and looked the same. Seemed like one basic tomato based sauce with various degrees of heat and sweetness. Chicken was tough and chewy. One dish was tikka, which was one of the better dishes, but again tough and dry, not at all moist. Best part of meal was onion bhajii and birthday cake which was light and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deena5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasty indian cooking in friendly environment!”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The place to eat if you want quality and tasty indian cooking served in a relaxed and un-hurried environment, served by knowlageable and friendly staff. You will always feel welcome at the Unique Spice restaurant whether eating the buffet lunch (real quality freshly cooked fare), or from the main menu (a real choice of good food from mild to very hot). The staff are excellent at treating you as a guest with good service and friendly banter. This is truly a "Unique" restaurant which has a good reputation for quality and service and worthy of these qualities. The restaurant is clean and tidy and serves both alcaholic and non-alcaholic drinks and a selection of wines and beers to compliment the food. Look out for the occasional themed evenings, very popular with the regular clientele and the locals. You have to book quickly for these events as the popularity ensures tickets sell quickly. A recent Elvis impersonator night was so overbooked that the manager had to hold a second one a week later also fully booked.Your visit to this restaurant will always be remembered and I am sure will be repeated. Good prices inexpensive quality food and friendly staff and environment make this a must for visitors to Slough Windsor or Maidenhead who want to end a day with a special evening and meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Unique Spice has been going for 10 years and thats how long ive been going with my partner, its a special place for us, the staff are very accomodating and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble.Buffet night on a wednesday gets very very busy, so i suggest to book, food is served prompt and of high standard, good size portions thats excellent value for money. Great place to book birthdays, Anniversarys etc..Receive a beautiful FREE handmade personalised fresh fruit cream and sponge cake, that taste devine! Free drink at the end of the evening adds a personal touch, what more could you ask...excellando

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea44England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Uniquely poor”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Been here a number of times before although it’s probably been 18 months or so since I was last here. I went there with some friends after watching the football mid-week a few days back. We’re all 40+ so not the boozed-fuelled stereotypical late evening attack on the local Indian associated with a Friday or Saturday night. Service and atmosphere all the same as I remembered from previous visits. They are very organised and pleasant with the standard patter of drinks, poppadoms, here’s the menu and back shortly to take your order. The waiter was even kind enough to point out a mid-week meal deal they had that ultimately saved us money against the order he had taken plus gave us a free starter.

Then the food arrived. All the curries were very bland, tasteless and looked/smelt the same despite ordering an array of dishes. It’s almost like they have a standard sauce mix, some sliced up chicken breast and some spices which get mixed and matched as they enter the serving pots. My curry was a Madras which should be full of flavour plus a little heat – neither I am afraid. The sides were equally tasteless as were the breads. Honestly, we should have complained but it was late and we were all hungry. Not their finest hour and we shall not be rushing back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warwick-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed unique spice also viewed

 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to unique spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing