We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out Standing”

The Ostrich Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 189 Restaurants in Slough
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Rail: Slough
Description: Believed to date back to the 12th century, The Ostrich on the old Bath to London road, close to Heathrow Airport and Terminal 5, is said to be England's third oldest inn. It's certainly a very fine example of its kind, combining everything you'd expect in a historic coaching inn: beams, nooks, fireplaces, crooked stairs, a cobbled courtyard and an interesting (albeit macabre) history. The chunky contemporary wooden furniture and bright colours come as a bit of a surprise, and work well with the huge, sagging beams, standing timbers and open fires. A wide-ranging menu serves good, freshly prepared food and reflects the demands of the area (the M4 and M25 are very near) and the concomitant mix of people. The specials board changes daily, while a lunch menu that is always ready within 20 minutes. A hearty Sunday lunch menu is served all dy long allowing you to indulge in a proper lie in and still have time for a roast.A private function room upstairs plays host to regular comedy nights and is available for hire for functions.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Out Standing”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We looked for a pub close to the rubbish hotel we were staying at in Heathrow (Sofitel T5) and we found The Ostrich Inn.

Gorgeous building, steeped in history and a very warm welcome. Fair selection of local ales and a vast selection of wine.

We had a burger each, a Blue Burger and a Surf & Turf burger, and they were the best burgers I have had in a restaurant.

As mentioned the service was outstanding and the food was outstanding.

If you are going to Heathrow for a flight go an hour early and visit The Ostrich for some food, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    154
    62
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Inexperienced young staff, not expected in a place like this. Two young female staff trying to serve tables and work the bar. However while waiting to place our order they were polishing cutlery, chatting to each other, rather than attending tables, with people waiting to order and other tables waiting to have plates taken away. The manager (?) French? assisted in serving a few tables, and opened the kitchen door with his head holding pints of beer! Do the staff behind the scenes enjoy an alcoholic drink? Just stating an observation. I ordered coronation chicken salad with cous cous off the menu, I received lettuce leaves sprinkled with cous cous and a chicken breast plonked on top. The menu description definitely did not live up to the reality. I was not very happy. I informed the staff who told me they would inform the kitchen. Watch this space!
Bottle of wine served to the table, just placed on the table! Not opened, poured or offered to try. Even Harvester open the wine at the table!!! After the main meal plates were removed, we were offered dessert menu which we declined. Waited about 20 mins to be offered the bill which was not forthcoming. It was very difficult to try to get the attention of the staff, so instead we went to the bar to pay. Paid and left! Will not return.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Evening meal before LHR flight”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Chose this location to grab a quick dinner the night prior to flying from Heathrow as it was a short walk from the Hoiday Inn. On arrival the pub oozed with charm and was busy - it was a Thursday evening around 7:20pm. When we asked at the bar we were told that they were busy and it would be around 9pm before a table would be available. This wasn't a problem as we were happy to have a drink and enjoy the surroundings.

A few minutes before 9pm we were able to place our order - a little disappointed that we had to stay at our small table in the bar area, but that was fine. The food selection was decent with something for most tastes, from burgers to coq au vin. Time then started to tick by and we waited and waited...this is where The Ostrich experience started to deteriorate. Forty minutes later we were told that there had been a kitchen mistake and our ticket hadn't been processed. Whilst waiting we had seen at least 3 meals being sent back to the kitchen by unhappy customers.

When our food eventually arrived - 50 minutes late - we were left underwhelmed. We'd ordered pub favourite dishes, steak pie and a cheese burger. Both dishes were okay, but the burger had been cooked medium and I was told it couldn't be cooked well done due to the quality of the meat - where's the customer service there?

Overall, the kitchen service and quality was dismal, drinks were pricey (£5 for a pint of Estrella lager). Nice atmosphere, but service and quality needs substantial improvement. A classic example of a business using its location to dish out expensive, poor quality service and products.

If you're in the area choose somewhere else.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Arrived on a Wednesday night. The pub was quite full, but they found us a table. We both enjoyed our meals and the bill was very reasonable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank julpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice dinner served”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

lovely olde worlde pub with open fire nice menu and nice large portions and good selection of beers not far from HI ex T5

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank coaltownjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ostrich Restaurant also viewed

Slough, Berkshire
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to The Ostrich Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing