We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite pub in the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Public House & Restaurant

The White Horse Public House & Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 186 Restaurants in Slough
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: A traditional British public house (no TVs, fruit machines or music) with 8 real ales and 3 real ciders all served straight from the barrel behind the bar.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite pub in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I work a few miles away and there are many pubs closer to the office, but I'd rather drive a few extra minutes to the White Horse.

The White Horse isn't a gastro-pub, with a huge menu of dishes bought in and stored in the freezer. All the food really is home made by the two old ladies who run the kitchen. So the menu changes depending on what they've cooked this week.

They also have half a dozen real ales and three real ciders available, most of which change every week or two.

So, if you like real food, and real cider in a traditional pub the White Horse is hard to beat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

good friendly pub excellent customer service lovely food for the price, staff where friendly and welcoming great range off real beers ales and ciders lovely wines wife was very happy will definitely be coming here again with out a doubt thank you for service

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ntomkins t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warm place after a long day ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

This is my third visit to this pub and so still my favorite in the area. Love the antique feel to the place... Good selection of beer and the food is not too shabby either. Oh.. A shout to the friendly driver who always picks me up from the Hilton T5. Complimentary shuttle rocks. Hope to be there soon .

Helpful?
Thank mrneeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Local Pub & Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stopped here for a late lunch on a Sunday afternoon after a wonderful walk. This pub is a real pub, a traditional beer lover’s paradise with good honest food.
They welcome walkers, if you do not have muddy boots, but you can leave your wellies at the door.
They were very welcoming and the food was good, we tried a corned beef slice with vegetables, roast beef sandwich, and a spinach and salmon filo slice. All very good.
I can definitely recommend this as a good place to eat and drink (if you are not driving)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
450 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch stop on our ramble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We arrived rather wet and bedraggled but were welcomed warmly by the staff and the charming traditional interior. Huge range of interesting food to suit all tastes and appetites - and at very reasonable prices. Great range of real ales and ciders as well. Food arrived fairly soon and was nicely presented, piping hot where it should have been, enough of it - and really delicious. Delightful rural setting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Public House & Restaurant also viewed

 
Slough, Berkshire
Fulmer, Buckinghamshire
 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to The White Horse Public House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing