We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night on a Travelzoo deal which was very good value indeed and included an evening meal at the Bugis Street Singaporean restaurant, a night in a superior room and breakfast the next morning. We were with a group of friends comprising 4 couples. We had stayed at this hotel once before back in March 2012 and found the experience similar to last time.
The hotel was easy to find and check in was fine. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has free, secure car parking. We were all allocated rooms close to each other on the 5th floor. We were in Room 524. We arrived a bit before the officially check-in time but as our rooms were ready we were allowed to check in early.
All our rooms were large, modern and clean. The bed was very comfy. There was plenty storage room for our bits and pieces. The room also had a mini-bar, tea/coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board, trouser press and air conditioning. There was a hairdryer in the bathroom plus another one by a small dressing-table area in the room. There was also a nice big desk for any business men staying and the hotel offered free wi-fi. The bathroom was fine with a shower over the bath, nice large bath towels and complimentary toiletries. Our room did not have a particular nice view but you could see Windsor Castle in the distance and it was a very quiet room.
As we were on the Travelzoo deal, our dinner was 2-courses from a set menu but there was enough of a choice. Service was good and the meal was fine.
Breakfast the next morning was taken in the main restaurant and the staff were good enough to push three tables together so that the 8 of us could all sit together. There was a good selection of fruit on offer, plenty of cold buffet and the hot buffet looked freshly cooked and appetising. There was plenty of topping up of coffee and tea.
The hotel does have a spa, gym and pool but we did not try them so could not report on them. My only complaint is that when we checked in we were asked if we would like a morning newspaper. We chose the Sunday Times but we did not get it. When I queried this at reception they reported that many of the morning papers were being pinched by other residents – so we didn’t get a newspaper but, as it was complimentary, I was not too bothered.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie_Copthorne, P A to General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind and comprehensive review of our hotel. We were all very pleased that you and your group of friends enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to tell us.
We will all look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again whenever your travels bring you back to this area.
Kindest regards & best wishes from the General Manager, Management Team & Staff at the Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here a couple of times after conferences at the hotel and never had any problems or anything that really stands out as being below par (nothing exceptional either). Have stayed in the double and family rooms and on both occassions thought they were kept to a good standard and all the facilities were good. The food has always been very good in all the different areas including the bar and staff are helpful and friendly all round.

For the cost I would rate this as being a good value hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac10biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

Much enjoyed pool and Spa facilities upon arrival. Pleasant and courteous staff. Very impressed with the standard of cuisine at dinner for a hotel close to an airport. Excellent room. Copthorne and Travelzoo need to talk to one another as Travelzoo voucher does not make it clear 'dining' deal you are on, ie Chinese or main restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrixinvogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne Hotel on Friday Jan 18th, I shared a room with my daughter, we were visiting a Dr. Who convention being held there the next day. I booked direct with the hotel and got a good price.
Good points; friendly reception staff. Our room was large, clean with two big comfortable beds and there was a good selection of teas and coffee and nice toiletries. It was cool but the weather was unusually cold.
Bad points; comfortable bar but very slow service. We paid £10 for access to a club lounge, open from 6-7pm with complimentary wine and canapes and a continental breakfast from 6.30am the next day, great value we thought. When we went to the small lounge at 6.15pm though it was full and the wine was just about all gone. It wasn't worth staying-no where to sit, so we went down to the bar. We had a meal in the buffet restaurant which was ok. When we got to our room at about 10pm for some reason we couldn't find the switch for our bedside lights. I phoned reception but no answer, left it for five minutes and tried again but still no answer. I phoned a friend I knew was in the bar, they said there were three people behind the reception desk apparently ignoring the phone. Our friend came and found the switches for us.
The next morning we went back early to the club lounge, this time we were first and we had a nice continental breakfast, but thought anyone coming in later may be disappointed.
We would go back to this hotel and recommend it, but I would say don't bother with the club lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sparing the time in reviewing our hotel following your recent stay.

I am pleased that in the main your stay was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you at the next convention later in the year.
On reviewing your comments regarding the Club Lounge I will investigate further as the upgrade price is £25 . The £10 upgrade is for our business Class rooms which come with free car parking and WiFi. Items in the Club Lounge are topped up as required and there are notices that explain this both inside and outside the room. Please be assured that I will assess over the coming weeks to ensure we avoid confusion in the future.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in August
Regards

David Faull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Very fast check in process, not overly willing to offer assistance. Only about 15 minutes from the airport. We took an expensive taxi service under the advise of the hotel, cost about 40 pounds. Hotel is a decent value, but when you add the taxi, it isn't that great of a deal. The room was very average. Clean with a good shower. We skipped the breakfast, but it was offered.
If you are wanting a good location to the airport choose this hotel. If you want to spend more time sightseeing in Central London, choose a closer hotel to Central London.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments

I am pleased that in the main you were satisfied with the hotel. We recommend an executive hire company and although this maybe slightly more than some taxi firms we have always found them to be exceptional, We have checked the cost with them and this rate was for a taxi to central London and the airport is £25.

If you are planning to travel again we would certainly recommend that you catch the express from Slough station as this will not only save you time but also money and get you right to Paddington in 15 minutes.

Many thanks again and I hope that your return journey was a comfortable one.

Regards

David Faull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed here Friday/Saturday for the Dr Who event and had previously called to request a room with a view so we could watch the traffic outside while the snow was falling. Got a room on the fourth floor with the attached view (daytime one). Found it quite relaxing watching the cars go round the roundabout! Room was ok, nothing amazing but everything worked as you would expect.
Food ranged from ok to nice - pastries for breakfast still seemed a bit stale as stated on a earlier review, obviously nothing been done about this!
One important question though, at an event of 300+ people attending, WHY was there only ONE member of staff at the bar????? There was a constant long queue there and it took ages to get served. The event had been organised for months so there is no excuse to only having 1 staff member on the bar. The roads were ok on this day so its not like someone could not have got to work that day. Again, I believe an earlier review had mentioned this at another event/day so lessons are not being learned. All staff were pleasant and problems/issues were fixed when they happened (except for the bar issue - then service would have been 5 stars).

Overall would stay again if the room price was right.

Room Tip: Views are either streets/houses or roundabout/main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Disappointing stay from start to finish.
Check in mediocre, no offer of help with luggage, no offer of "what newspaper" required, continued to get name wrong
As a Business traveller I booked one of the Executive Club rooms. Room was ok, bathroom was tired looking, needed a major make-over and not very clean, especially the shower curtain. - In fact who uses shower curtains these days??
Room Service menu rubbish, especially after 10 PM when only sandwiches available.
Breakfast, food tepid as had sat there too long and the hot water was lukewarm

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEK0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am sorry to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one and was extremely disappointed that you did not allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes before placing this review.
We pride ourselves on our warm friendly team and are therefore doubly disappointed that you were clearly not happy. Hopefully you will get in contact with me and we can see if there is anything we can do to restore your faith in us.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards

David Faull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slough
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
4.4 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,925 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
1.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor

Address: Cippenham Lane, Slough SL1 2YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Slough
Price Range: £55 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Slough - Windsor Hotel Slough
Copthorne Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing