We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best...”
Review of Kai's Restaurant

Kai's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kai's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 192 Restaurants in Slough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Discover the delights of authentic Oriental cuisine at Kai's. Whether you decide to dine in our charming, intimate restaurant or collect delicious dishes to dine at home, you can be sure you will be choosing Oriental cooking of the highest standard. Under the direct supervision of the owners, Kai and Sandy Poon, expert chefs at Kai's create exquisite dishes, many unavailable anywhere else, using only the finest, fresh ingredients. All our sauces are carefully prepared to our own secret recipes to ensure that your gastronomic experience at Kai's is truly unique. Kai's cuisine is sure to delight even the most discerning palate.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

... it takes an excellent restaurant to be awarded five stars and this one deserves a 5+!
I visited here with friends & family to celebrate a very special birthday. It was chosen due to the high rating on Trip Advisor and it far exceeded our expectations. The hospitality of both Kai & Sandy and the food were both outstanding. There is only one similar restaurant where the food is so good with a similar menu and it's 70 miles north of this one. We eat out frequently and I would travel to this one and return again & again even though we live an hour away. What a fantastic menu and the food was delicious. Sesame toast, thai fishcakes, thai green curry, sticky spare ribs, singapore noodles and much more were absolutely lovely. Thank you Kai & lovely Sandy for a fantastic evening. Your food is DELICIOUS!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAitchQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    55
    12
    6
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful food and friendly welcome!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On a recent trip to LegoLand, we wanted to pick up some good takeaway food on the way back to the hotel. After checking TripAdvisor, we settled on Kai's. We were not disappointed!
The lady that welcomed us and took our order was lovely, and the meal took no more than 15/20 minutes.
We ordered one of the set meals for two (mixed starter - prawn toasts, seaweed, ribs, spring rolls, sweet and sour pork, ginger and spring onion chicken, egg rice) and a side of noodles. Everything was very flavourful and tasted fresh.
If we're in the area again, we wouldn't think twice about popping into Kai's again! Maybe next time we'll eat in, as the restaurant looked nice and they appear to be child-friendly too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lardy-ardy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the Cherry on top of a nice day!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Best we have had in long time really enjoyed food and friendly atmosphere! Also with a violinist to accompany us eating thanks again shall come visit when we come back this way!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lardy-ardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you tripadvisor!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have visited Kai's a number of times now after initially reading the great reviews left on tripadvisor.

For:
Although not yet complete, it is beautifully decorated in a modern style.
Really exciting menu.
Vibrant friendly atmosphere.
Bar area to have a pre-dinner drink.
Wonderful staff - made some great suggestions about food combinations.
Not rushed in and out, as is so often the way theses days.

Most of all though, the food - absolutely sensational.

Against:
Err - nothing I can think of!

Kai's is fast becoming my favourite place to eat - give it a try and I bet it will become yours too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelleace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

In a moment of weakness we decided to eat out. We hardly ever eat chinese food but in the spirit of trying an established restaurant nearby (and we were passing), we ventured in.

First impressions are that it's a down to earlier family run place... no frills, not particularly modern, but fine.

We were seated and my 6yr old has some comments:
"chopsticks are very clean and have good drawing on them of dragons and things"
"drinks are good"

We ordered a few bits and pieces... starters, some duck and pancakes and 1 main... and asked for it to be brought in any order as it became ready.

My highlights...
sesame prawn toasts - nice and prawny
steamed/grilled dumplings... beautifully flavoured, great firm texture, and light ginger/chilli dipping sauce
steamed seabass with pak choi... wonderfully cooked fish in soy based sauce with great taste... my 6yr olds favourite dish

The duck + pancakes and other starters (e.g. tempura, spare ribs) were standard fare but the general quality of the food was better than the standard chinese takeaways and other nearby restaurants.

The service is not 100% efficient but that adds to the charm... hey the place was busy it was a saturday night... service was friendly and the kids got various treats...

A pleasant evening.. we will be back I hope... to dine on dumplings, seabass and try something new..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chappers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai's Restaurant also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Slough, Berkshire
Slough, Berkshire
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Kai's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing