We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Thai Food in a pub enviroment”
Review of Punch Bowl Pub

Punch Bowl Pub
Ranked #22 of 192 Restaurants in Slough
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food in a pub enviroment”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Living not far from this pub, we used to be regulars – but found about a year ago the standard of food to have gone down.

We decided to visit again this weekend – and what a transformation. The place has had a paint inside, and a wall seems to have been knocked out creating a more light environment.

There appears to have been a change in staff too, and all pleasant and Thai – even behind the bar is now Thai barmaids.

Food was excellent and back to the standard it was a couple of years ago.

You have to remember that this is a pub, which serves Thai food – so don’t go expecting plush surroundings. It’s cheap and cheerful, but food is excellent and very reasonably priced.

We will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, bit stingy, ambiance... interesting”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We came here once before and we had a horrible experience. Bad food, bad service. But! We were both unwell so there's a good chance we were being unfair.

This time around we barged our way through the pub, helped ourselves to menus and ordered. The food came quickly and was hot and delicious. Both of us have had 'real' Thai food and were impressed. Portions were on the small side, as a couple of other people have noted on here. The prices were reasonable I guess but £2.50 for steamed rice, on top of £5.75 for red curry? Seems a little bit steep for the location and situation.

Anyway, I expect we'll be back. Maybe for takeaway next time.

Helpful?
Thank graydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Great little pub with excellent Thai food!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'm on a business trip from the US and stayed nearby. when i asked the guy at the hotel desk for a local pub, he told me how to walk to this location. It was a perfect local pub with a sweetheart of a bar maid. The Thai food was much better than I expected.. very pleased :-). loved the Fullers beer too https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WihauLcgbcQ

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longslim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting little place with amazing food”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is an interesting setup with a Thai restaurant inside a pub so it can be a little cramped. The food however is absolutely amazing and its not expensive at all. Its great for a quick and cheap lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GediUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airpricing
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice authentic Thai food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Punch bowl
This is my favourite Thai restaurant in London.
Not for the ambience (as it runs beside/with a pub), but for the food.
The family cooks authentic Thai food, with generous portions and flavoursome dishes.
Not all understand English (like when you want to ask more about the dishes, or have special requirements), but they are very friendly and polite.
As it’s not located in central London, the prices are really good. If you are around the airport, I would most definitely recommend this place for it’s food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Airpricing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punch Bowl Pub also viewed

 

Been to Punch Bowl Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing