We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast & Fresh”
Review of The China Garden

The China Garden
Ranked #110 of 192 Restaurants in Slough
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fast & Fresh”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Impromptu get together for a family birthday, been out all day and could not be bothered to cook so decided on Chinese takeaway. Have had a sit down at The China Garden before but never a take-away. What a treat!! Was expecting a long wait as I was ordering for 10 at peak Friday evening dining time, but no, our meal was ready in 20 minutes. The menu choice was great and everything that was as ordered was hot and tasted very fresh.... plenty of FREE prawn crackers as well.
Thoroughly recommend The China Garden, Burnham High Street.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    7
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I love Asian food so walked in here yesterday just after 2pm, expecting them to throw me out. They didn't - even though I probably was their last and only customer for lunch. Located on Burnham High St, this place is hard to miss - just before Tesco Express. Food was amazing - traditional Chinese with a touch of modern. Simple, elegant and delicious food. Recommend highly. And it's very good value - you can eat 2 courses for less than 7 quid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham, Buckinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable takeaway”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Quality wise our take away was pretty good and it was presented to us nice and hot. Flavours were good but no more than that - would we use them again? Probably. On the downside we were told the meal would be ready for collection in twenty minutes and we ended up waiting forty! One of the dishes was missing a sauce and another was completely wrong (duck with ginger & pineapple instead of duck with plum sauce). These minor mistakes weren't a big deal but fussy eaters beware!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-Benster-to-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

£17.50 for the all you want buffet is a fair price but the food is so average that I would have rather gone over the road and got a takeaway! Some of thd staff are surly too. Don't bother!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey drinks”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First time in going to The China Garden in Burnham and I wouldn't rush back there. The food was good but it was quiet in the restaurant so I would expect the food to be great, the drinks were well overpriced. For a orange and lemonade it was £4.00 for a pint. Much cheaper in other places.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouieR085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The China Garden also viewed

Slough, Berkshire
 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Been to The China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing