We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Restaurant”
Review of Viva L'italia - CLOSED

Viva L'italia
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The only original italian restaurant/pizzeria in berkshire viva l'italia has been nominate as one of the 7 best restaurant in south region (UK) by the uk food award and we will collect our award in manchester on the 17/11/14 thank to all of you and my staff!!!
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Firstly would like to thank M Flemming for pointing out that this is indeed a family restaurant so our party of 6 adults and 5 children jumped at the chance to give it a try whilst visiting legoland for the weekend. We opted for the less formal part of the restaurant as the children had been stuck in a car all day so were more energetic than usual! The host made us all feel extremely welcome and went out of his way to entertain the kids. The food was delicious, the pizza's were authentic and extremely good value for money. We were all so impressed with the food, price and the welcome we received we returned the following night and were not disappointed. Especially enjoyed our complimentary limoncello's that arrived with the bill. Would recommend anyone visiting slough to dine here, much better than the high street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KBrook39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited the restaurant on the 7/4/14 whilst staying at the premier inn, on a family trip to leogland, the owner was friendly and very welcoming, the food served was excellent and a good selection. I opted for the steak which was cooked to perfection. There were two families which comprised of 4 adults and 6 children, but nothing was of too much trouble for the staff and the selection of food satisfied all 10 of us. I will definately visit the restaurant again sometime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DazOrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Looked nice from the outside - but:

Children running around screaming out loud. Nobody cared - could have been the playground at McDonald's.

Three out of four mains were disappointing; the Spaghetti alla Carbonara wasn't creamy but like spaghetti with scramble eggs and no bacon to be found. The risotto thin and tasteless.

We had really expected more after looking the restaurant up and have read the reviews here on Trip Advisor.

The beer was good, though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Flemming M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
max w, Proprietario at Viva L'italia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

unfortunate for you, viva l'italia restaurant like the magiority of italian restaurant in italy are for children first.......children are welcome in our place before anyone...........about the carbonara, that is one of our best seller, it is not mean to be made with cream but just with egg so perhaps you had it in different place but they never made it in the real way.....i suggest a trip to italy and try it up before leaving any comment.
i am from Napoli and i cook as i cook in Napoli so my food is real and not made up as many restaurant do in uk.
i do noy understand why you did not mentioned it during your dinner so i could explain to you personally.
and a risotto...i do not remember which risotto you had, can be made with so many different kind of rice, depend on the risotto and once again you could ask me question on the same time.
i hope you ll go to italy first before trying any other restaurant in uk so you will get more knowledge about italian food and avoid leaving wrong feedback.
i hope to see you again and go through this conversation personally in front a real plate of carbonara that i will share with you and off course paid from the house.
REMEMBER PLEASE.....KIDS ARE THE LIFE AND WE ALL HAVE BEEN CHILDREN ONCE.....
BEST REGARD
MAX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Used our Gourmet Dining card - no problem.
Excellent host Massimo. Freshly cooked food - to order - changed the menu meal for me and also reduced sized portion for a 6 year old. Couldn't eat the whole of his pizza but just as good the day after.
Tiny wine list and the one we had was just about passable....but not pricey so we'll live with that.
Recommend it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

What a great find..! The food is authentic Italian !

Max the owner is really friendly and clearly enjoys the business. He explained they are still working on improving the decor and updating the surroundings. But, don't let this put you off. The food is great and well priced too!

I look forward to another visit when I'm next in the area. It's a refreshing change to find friendly staff and authentic, well made food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sammyezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viva L'italia also viewed

Slough, Berkshire
 
Slough, Berkshire
 
Slough, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing