We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!!”
Review of Skyways Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyways Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't bother!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I booked this hotel because looking at the pictures it seemed nice enough for a short stay (one night passing through) upon arrival, the receptionist didn't even say hello, jus told me pay, gave me the key and showed me on my way. The room itself was in need of some serious TLC, the bathroom smelt clean but looking at it closer it was far from it. On the website it fails to mention that the bar downstairs will be playing really loud music 'till late at night and the smoking area for the bar is directly below the guests rooms, I had my 5yr old son with me and he had a rough time settling because of this. The noise from the staff in the morning was terrible, I didn't appreciate the doors being slammed at 5.30am. Lastly, the bed.... I won't even bother going into detail but I will suggest booking a massage therapist for the following day!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    25
    13
    91
See reviews for
16
32
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Would make an awesome themed hotel giving away T'shirts saying 'I survived Skyways Hotel'. The double room had a double bed barely larger than a single. All the floor boards were creaking with a large hole under the lino in the bath room as you step out of the bath. There was also only 1 bath towel and 1 hair towel for the pair of us and no sink plug. We stayed in a 1st floor room where the windows opened fully onto the street below with no safety catches. Cooked breakfast was very small and simple with literally 1 egg, 1 sausage 1 rasher of bacon, 1 tinned tomato and 1 mushroom quartered.

Of the 2 staff we encountered only one seemed interested with the girl on reception playing on a laptop with headphones when we arrived and an older lady who was very abrupt and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 3 other friends for 1 night after visiting Thorpe Park for the day. (Only 20mins drive from Thorpe Park so ideal if you have a car!) For the price you get what you pay for! It was decent, It was clean and tidy and we had no issues whilst staying here. We had a twin room with 3 single beds and 1 double (2 beds in each) and we found the shower room and toilet clean. There was a sink, towels and soap working tv's and a kettle with tea/coffee which come free in the rooms. The breakfast was complimentary and included in the price and so was well worth the money with Full English breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, baked beans, tomatoes) , tea/coffee, cereals, toast and jam/marmalade and yogurts. Staff seemed pleasant (not very good for asking directions over the phone though!). If you want a cheap, basic hotel and not expecting a high standard then this hotel is great for you. I would completely recommend it!! Good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theSoph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a last minute decision after day at Royal Ascot. Surprised at room as it was a twin yet had a double for one of the two beds which was fab. Can't fault the room/bathroom for what we payed all very clean and tidy! Breakfast in morning was a basic English breakfast/toast/jam/cereals and orange juice. You could have tea and coffee too. However if can stomach tea instead of coffee opt for the tea! Coffee is made strong and not really hot enough but tea is absolutely fine (tip: if do need coffee just ask them too make it hot!). The only let down we experienced which I can't blame the hotel for is the lack of respect shown by a certain party of young guests that decided to be very loud at intervals through the night. One more thing parking is absolutely fine here...as ample space to the rear and front!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Softysofty1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

As of my arrival, i like the hotel. The staff is very friendly and it is a great place to stay, i am already 1 week here, the rooms are clean and every day it gets cleaned,if you need anything just ask the staff and they will help. The breakfast is also good and you don't wait long for it.

John

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have never stayed in a dirtier hotel than this the room was filthy it had damp on the ceiling I didn't dare have a shower as it was also dirty I was greeted at reception by the most unfriendly person I have met hardly spoke a word until it was time to pay one nights stay was quite enough if I hadn't have been so tired on arrival I would have turned around and walked out this place is a dump don't waste your money staying here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed in this hotel and the floor in room makes alot of noise, the doors handles make alot of noise. The bathroom only has one towel. The lights in room not working. The person on reception very unfriendly. The rooms smell really damp.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajesh0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Slough hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Heathrow Terminal 5
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Slough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heathrow/Windsor Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Slough
Travelodge Slough
#5 of 21 in Slough
532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyways Hotel

Property: Skyways Hotel
Address: 21 London Road, Slough SL3 7RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Slough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Slough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Skyways Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Skyways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyways Hotel Slough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing