We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
HAPPYDAYS
London, United Kingdom

Clean Hotel / but Ruined my sleep

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2016via mobile
If you book this hotel on a hot day like I did, make sure you request the person at the reception to provide you with a table fan, because the room was very unpleasant.

These rooms are meant to have an air con that works but NO! Every time I set the temperature to 18/19 or 20 degrees, it would set back to its default temperature of 23 degrees, after having reported the concern to the front desk, the person was very apologetic & did admit that the temperature cannot be regulated.

The breakfast area is quite cramped, so you need to wake up early to avoid the rush.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Sept 2016
Dear TRAVELZONE2011,

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, and we appreciate your business with us. It is nice to know that the cleanliness of the hotel is at par. However, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience the room temperature and the condition of the breakfast area may have caused you. It is certainly not our intent to disappoint our valued guests like you, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We have shared your comments with the hotel management and we’re confident that necessary actions will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Grace P.
Case Manager
IHGService
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,323)
Filter reviews
1,323 results
Traveller rating
356
468
276
120
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
356
468
276
120
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room windsor castle legoland base heathrow pounds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 1,323 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The place was a little tricky to find as we're northerners and weren't familiar with Slough...

The only negative and I'll get this out of the way quickly is the Parking BUT this has nothing so with the staff so please don't take it out on them. Warning Now there is not enough parking for the size of the hotel. However the manager himself took my husband to safe car parking that was free until the morning.. Problems quickly solved.

The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was comfortable and clean. Bed linen spotless and when I asked for more pillows, towels, tea and sugar they were at the door pronto.... 👍🏼 room lovely and subtitles on the tele.

Breakfast is help yourself.... A choice of something for even the fussiest eater... Help yourself to as much or a as little as possible.

Check in and was simple and straightforward.

Thanks you

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed here in July as we were visiting Legoland and Harry Potter Studios. The car park is tiny with very few spaces. Just be mindful when you enter the car park that you'll need a code from reception to exit. Even though we were going to be using the car I opted to pay for 3 days parking at the train station which is just at the side of the hotel as its a reduced rate of £15.70 in the machine.

The rooms are exactly the same as every other Holiday Inn Express clean, functional and great for the price. The staff at check-in and in the restaurant were fantastic, very friendly chatting to my children and I. Word of warning though the fruit shoot drinks for children in the bar are ridiculously expensive at £2.50, which is more expensive than some of the theme parks! It's not the ideal area to walk with children after dark so I opted for dinner in the restaurant, it's a burger chips sort of menu and it served us perfectly fine.

When we were there they were working on the train station next door and the noise went on till 11pm, very loud beeping of vehicles reversing. If you're planning on staying with children as for a room furthest away from the train station.

If you're going to Legoland you can stock up on sandwiches, crisps and drinks in the Tesco Express which is just around the corner from the Holiday Inn Express Slough, just be careful though they don't open the tills till 10am on a Sunday morning.

Room tip: Furthest from the train station
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purple_swb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel was as expected for a HI Express ,nothing to fancy but clean,tidy and modern.Usual welcome and everthing explained,just a few gripes,firstly parking ,for such a convenient location the parking availablity is sadly lacking.Arriving early I was lucky enough to get a space,but upon departure it appeared to be everyman for themelves with cars everywhere blocking people in,fortunaitly I could just get out, but even then the surrounding roads were heaving.The rooms also lack a bit of soundproofing,I could hear every word from next room, not even that loud.Other than this the staff were great so everything considered not to bad.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank marksimpson1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as part of the Lego land 2 day deal. Hotel close to park and as you'd expect for a holiday inn. Best bit is next to the train station so after a day in Lego land we caught the 10 min train and had a lovely walk and meal in Windsor. If going to Lego land id recommend this place to give the adults a nice night out in Windsor

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank briddyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Slough, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear briddyUk,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. There is no greater satisfaction as a customer service professional than receiving kind words from a valued guest like you. We are delighted to know that you found our location to be good. Reviews like yours motivate us to work harder to continuously provide the best guest experience possible.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This hotel is in great location, next door to train station for Windsor and London. Staff are friendly and helpful. My father was taken ill and the staff responded expertly to the situation. Parking is minimal but station car park is normally available next door. Rooms were clean and well presented. Breakfast is busy at weekends so get up early !!! I would certainly use this again

Room tip: Rooms are a squeeze with 2 kids, 1 sofa bed and a cot bed. If budget allows get 2 rooms
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank timmyb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews