We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My 71st birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunters Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hunters Moon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My 71st birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We decided to spend it in Sidmouth, a place to which my late in laws retired in 1973.
The Hunter's Moon was where they stayed for 2 nights 40 years ago before moving into their new home & my husband remembered them praising it then.
We were not disappointed. It is a beautiful building with an interesting history, within its own grounds running alongside the River Sid. It is within walking distance of the main town.
We chose a downstairs bedroom with wet room as my husband has Parkinson's. He is still very mobile but would recommend for disabled guests as well. The beds were very comfortable and our chosen room number 16, which was very spacious had a little balcony overlooking the grounds and the private gate to the River Sid walkway.
It was only a one night stay but there was complimentary tea in the afternoon on arriving, an excellent evening meal with a choice of menus. The tables had crisp white linen. The waitress service was very efficient, no waiting between courses and afterwards coffee tea etc. was "help yourself" in the choice of 3 lounges.
The middle lounge by the front door was not carpeted and this was for guests who wished to bring their dog. That really is an extra plus point for this hotel.
Breakfast was also an excellent menu, with an amazing choice that would suit every guest.
Whilst most of us there in December were older guests, that suited us down to the ground, we wanted peace & quiet & we certainly got it.
I was glad they had WIFI, it was only in the lounge area however.
The staff were so friendly & the place was tastefully decorated for Christmas. We shall return.
Jill A. Smith. P.S. Thank you for my birthday card, a nice touch.

Room Tip: Look online and you can see each individual room especially the bathroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
92
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Lovely warm welcome and atmosphere, very good food, friendly staff and very good facilities. Sidmouth itself is very well served with shops and has an unspoilt air about it. The hotel was a very restful sanctuary after blustery and rainy days. Nothing was too much trouble and we were looked after extremely well.

Room Tip: Room 16 is well adapted for disabled guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffanddenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a weekend away....and this Hotel & Staff were all wonderful !
Rooms = excellent! Food & Service = excellent ! Grounds = excellent ! Communal areas = excellent ! Area = excellent ! Nothing was too much trouble .
5 minute stroll to the town & seafront .
Would recommend to everyone :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggielavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay(b&b and evening meal) at this hotel and could not fault it in any way. The food was plentiful, beautifully presented and served with efficiency and always with a smile! The rooms were comfortable, quiet and very clean. The location of the hotel is good with a 10 minute walk bringing you into the town or a stroll through the side gate, taking you up the Byes to a beautiful part of the Devon countryside.
We will certainly consider returning when next we need to relax.We just hope we will be able to get in as it is a very popular place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tres0rya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Outside it says 2*, inside is a lot different. Yes - it does not have a night porter, it does not have a lift, it does not have a swimming pool and the wifi is a bit irregular but what it does have comes by the bucket load. You only have to read the other reviews to know that this place is something special

It has great service, comfort, peace, location and the food is superb.

I am writing this before I have finished my stay - I would dearly love to stay on but the best I can do is to book another stay. I was talking to a gent who had just arrived. He told me that his friend has been coming to this hotel for last 53 years so he thought he ought to come and investigate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Hunters Moon has an excellent location adjacent to the very popular Byes open space and within walking distance of shops and beach. The grounds are large and attractive and are worth a stroll in themselves. As described by others, the hotel has the charm of bygone ages. I've noted the comments of another reviewer that residents tend to be elderly, but, as I and my wife are in our sixties, we did not feel out-of-place. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast, with fine hot food and very efficient and attentive service. Circumstances meant that we were unable to remain for the second day of our planned two-day stay and we greatly appreciated the kindness and understanding shown to us by the proprietors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

There is a certain charm about the Hunters Moon in Sidmouth, but only if you're reaching the age of three score and ten or four score. This country house, with beautiful gardens is, for all intents and purposes, set in the fifties from where it has no intention of leaving.

To sum up, if it got a bit of cobweb clearing and had a manager with flare and new ideas, this charming little hotel could renter the 21st century and be revitalised....

The artificial flowers on the dining room tables say it all. While the garden is abloom with fresh flowers, which would not attract the dust of good old jolly bygone years, the hotel and restaurant is full of these synthetic flowers one would only be tempted to throw in the nearest skip !

The dinner menu with similar ingredients, but cuisined by a chef with some flair, could have come alive and be as tasty as the food in any good restaurant.

What a pity my pâté was bland and tasteless served with a accompagnemt of lifeless baby salad leaves. My mains fish (was it hake ?) was equally insipid and looked at me like a bold dog who dreadfully wanted say 'sorry'. The the boiled vegetables of celery and turnip remained me of what we had to endure before anyone heard of perestroika !

Even British cuisine has come a long way since then and today can no longer be laughted at by our continental neighbours. But the Hunters Moon reminds me of the post-war years I never knew .....

But all is not lost ! I would hope that the management will one day decide to make a giant leap and turn this little, but charming hotel, into something they can be proud of.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MPOS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Moon Hotel

Property: Hunters Moon Hotel
Address: Sid Road, Sidmouth EX10 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hunters Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Moon Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing