We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good place for a holiday”
Review of Hunters Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunters Moon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed with my elderly father and were very impressed. My father has mobility difficulties and had room 18 which is well equipped with a walk-in wetroom, handles around the toilet etc. We had room 31. The bathrooms in both cases appeared to have been refurbished recently using good quality fittings - the showers worked well and maintained a constant temperature. The rooms were comfortably furnished and well maintained. The good sized balcony was a bonus in the sunny weather. Breakfast was good and dinner was especially good. The menu is completely changed every night and consists of 4 courses plus coffee. There is a choice of 4 things for starters and mains - including vegetarian options. Ignore the 2 star rating - this is better than I have had in many 4 star hotels. The wine list has a good choice and reasonably priced.
Other reviews have commented that the hotel isn't really suitable for young families and this is true - but for middle aged and elderly people it is ideal.
The grounds are extensive with chairs/tables in pleasant surroundings.

Sidmouth is a well-kept and unspoilt town. There is an excellent walk around town (http://www.sidmoutharboretum.org.uk/documents/town_trail.pdf) - allow a couple of hours.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of the rooms on their web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in beautiful grounds, themselves bordering on the open parkland of the Byes and is reasonably close to the town centre and sea. The hotel is, I guess, a little dated but the rooms are perfectly ok and comfy. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff most pleasant and helpful. All in all a happy stay. Will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited with family who had stayed in the hotel in 40 years ago, and apparently little has changed. Most of the guests were 70 plus, we are a young family with children under 5. We had room 21 with an awful wobbly bed, no power shower and nauseatingly hot with the radiator on full blast in June. The shower attachment had very weak pressure (2nd floor room) and was impossible to keep the temperature at a comfortable level. Room aside the grounds are lovely, breakfast was very nice, hotel was clean.

Room Tip: Avoid room 21, no power shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We wanted a hotel in Sidmoth where the food, service, room standard, parking and location would give us a relaxing 5 day break. The Hunters Moon was chosen from Trip Advisor reviews and proved to be a gem. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnJoyce32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Being yet another couple of 'returners' we can only echo Liz R's fulsome praise! Where else could you find a hotel that ticks all the right boxes?
Food - excellent, imaginative menus, everything cooked to perfection and no request too much trouble.
Cleanliness - sparkling everywhere, simply spotless.
Comfort - bliss (no rowdy music, wonderfully quiet) lovely comfortable lounge and armchairs.
Staff - extraordinarily helpful, always cheerful but never overwhelming.
Situation - the grounds are a joy to behold, in particular the wonderful Foxglove Tree.
Can't wait to go back again in September when I know we'll receive the same warm welcome we've always had in previous years!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosslynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Taking someone with special needs away is never easy but the staff made the whole experience absolutely wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The menu was very suitable for all dietary needs so that made life even easier. We are very much looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Don't let the 2* rating put you off, this hotel offers so much more. I've stayed in a lot worse 4* hotels. We stayed over Easter Weekend. Recommended by friends.
Such a friendly welcome, everything explained and nothing too much trouble. Beautifully clean, well appointed and a comfortable sized room. Comfortable lounge and bar, great ambience throughout.
Dinners and breakfasts were perfectly cooked, well presented on hot plates. Plenty choice and variety on the menu. Breakfast is a mixture of self service for cereals, fruit etc, cooked breakfast is chosen from a menu at your table , hot coffee/tea etc brought to you along with toast.
Beautiful well kept grounds surround the hotel with plenty places to sit and enjoy the tranquility. (Spot the golf clubs and balls by the front door as you enter, you can even play some pitch n put on the lawns).
All staff were so very friendly and helpful. Guests seemed very happy too, several small groups who return year after year is proof that the hotel is doing plenty right.
Great quality, family values,good ambience, wonderful food. Who needs more?

.

Room Tip: Plenty ground floor well thought out rooms for the less able bodied guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunters Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Moon Hotel

Address: Hunters Moon Hotel Sid Road, Sidmouth EX10 9AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £110 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hunters Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Moon Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing