We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay for price.”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good stay for price.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed on a Groupon deal, upgraded room for a sea view. Room was a good size with a double and a single bed. All facilities in the room were good only complaint it was very warm even in November had to have the windows open. Fish and chips was included with the deal this was good as was the service.
Ideal location to walk around sidmouth or along the coast. Continental breakfast was adequate choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and toast again friendly service.
For the price we paid I would certainly return not sure if the full price. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bathbabyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautic1, Owner at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is reassuring to know that the fish and chips were good and the service was friendly.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Bedford Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    118
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
85
189
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Bedford this weekend as a romantic treat for my birthday via Groupon. He had made calls to the hotel stressing how important the break away was.

On arrival we were fortunate enough to get the final of 6 parking spaces, all guests arriving after us had to pay £20 for an overnight stay at the public carpark opposite!

For our special weekend we were given a 'family' room at the back of the hotel with no sea view which was a massive disappointment for my partner who had wanted it to be special! We were on a rare no need of the 'family room' experience and he did try to get us moved to no avail! The receptionist was very 'snotty'!!

Although clean, the room was too hot and had a dank, musty smell. The whole place was in deperate need of an overhaul. The smell of gloss paint on the radiators in the main hall was overpowering! The shower was nice and powerful but the extractor fan/light combination was a total pain, especially at night!!

The staff on booking in and in the restaurant were rude and blunt. All customers without a sea view from their rooms also were segregated to the back of the dining room... away from the sea view!!! We left after looking at the evening meal menu and found somewhere with more charm, better choice, friendly staff... and a sea view!!

Breakfast served from 8.30-9.30. There seemed to be some confusion about what a 'Continental Breakfast' consists of... perhaps the older clientel may be happy with a box of cereal and some prunes or peaches but we were forced to pay for the 'Full English'... £5 for 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 hash brown, half a slice of fried bread, a tomato, a table spoon of beans and a fried egg served on a plate so hot the yolk was solid!!

We had to vacate the room by 10.30, which we did quite happily but it wasn't as relaxing as we'd hoped!

At no point during our stay were we asked if averything was to our liking!! Or maybe our feelings were obvious!

On the way home I realised I'd left my keys behind so we turned around and I rang ahead to say we'd be collecting them. The receptionist said if I posted THEM a self addressed jiffy bag, they'd post them to me!! This was the icing on the cake to display just how important customers are to this Hotel!!

We still had our romantic break, Sidmouth is charming and we will re visit the area... We will NOT, however, be staying at the Bedford and wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The hotel break was a massive disappointment and we were incredibly glad we weren't paying full price!!

We were treated like second rate guests for being Groupon customers and there were 3 other couples in the restaurant, of various ages, making the same complaints!! Come on Bedford, if you don't want Groupon customers please remove yourself from the site!!! This is not the way to generate return business!!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view please make sure you're very clear about it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nautic1, Owner at The Bedford Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
We regret that you were disappointed with your stay with us at The Bedford Hotel.

This is the first time we have run a deal through Groupon and it was sold on their website as a “Seaside break for two with dinner and breakfast for £69 at The Bedford Hotel (up to £170.30 value)” and the highlights include:

Traditional resort
Locally caught fish & chips each
Glass of wine or a pint of bitter or premium lager each
Rooms equipped with televisions, hair dryers and telephones
Continental breakfast

Therefore I feel I must clarify some points made in your recent review.

Unfortunately we do have limited car parking, but you did managed to get a parking space. If our spaces are all in use we do advise guests of alternative parking and we do suggest the Bedford Lawn Car Park (opposite). This is privately run (not by us). Parking costs are displayed on the kiosk in the car park as: 24 hours £10.00 or over night 5.30 pm - 10 am £5.50.

The reason that we are able to offer a such a good rate with our Groupon deal is because the package is of good quality, but not elaborate. Included in the deal are standard inland facing rooms, however at the time of booking, we do offer an up grade to a side sea view at a cost of £10 per person. Unfortunately an up grade may not always be possible at the time of check in due to availability. The deal is a “Seaside break” but we cannot guarantee customers will have a sea view unless the customer would like the up grade. Apologies that this may not have been made clear.

The hotel (including bedrooms and the ground floor) was refurbished less than eight months ago. I have been up to the room you refer to and it does not have a damp musty smell and the whole place is not in need of an over haul. The room may well have been warm and this was due to the central heating being on. We close the hotel annually for refurbishments and improvements where necessary.

Regarding the dining room and the dining room staff, we will speak to the relevant staff and can only apologise that you feel the service was lacking and you feel you were segregated. This would not be our intention and we will ensure that this does not happen again in the future. Included in the deal is a fish and chip supper (as stated in the high lights). This option was not chosen by yourselves and there was also nothing on our full menu that appealed to you.

A continental breakfast is a light breakfast with tea, coffee, toast and preserves which were all on offer along with the fruit. There is an option to upgrade to a full English breakfast but we do not force our customers to up grade.

We do welcome and value all of our guests that come to stay, and customer service is very important to us and we will certainly look in to any issues that may have arisen during the night that you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just had a weekend break at this lovely hotel in Sidmouth.
We could not fault anything. Our room on the 2nd floor and at the back of the hotel was well decorated and clean, although it is a small room it has everything you need.
The hotel is comfortable and well appointed.
The evening meal of Fish and Chips was exceptional.
Breakfast good with plenty of tea and toast.
We managed to park on site, but you do have do give your car keys to reception, because of limited spaces.
We would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivjen92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Had a one night stay here on a Groupon deal, the full price is far too expensive especially if you want a sea view. Rooms are good and have been refurbished, but the floor in my room was sloping and so was the bed ,it really should have been leveled up as it was uncomfortable for my partner our bathroom was poor with very dark tiles and no window. A larger TV would also be a benefit.The food was OK nice and hot with no service delay. The staff are all very friendly apart from one who was not easy going and a bit like a strict school teacher. However it was not a bad stay. Parking is not easy but with enough effort it will be free somewhere not too far away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluekupkake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The Pyne Bar located in the hotel was recommended by the B&B we stayed in. It was a Monday night and we were seated quickly. My husband had the Green Prawn Curry (a lunch item but they let him order it for dinner) and I had the Lasagne and garlic bread. We both had date and walnut cake for dessert. Our meals were really good and we would eat there again! Total bill with drinks £42.70

Room Tip: The Pynes Bar has good food and is open to non residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EweAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Bedford Hotel recently and, although the location within Sidmouth is good, the hotel really needs updating and modernisation. The room and the en-suite felt kind of grubby and I wish we had stayed elsewhere. It was also way too expensive for what we received. Next time, the Victoria here we come.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I took 10 family and friends to Pyne's on the 5th Sep to celebrate my daughters 21st. It was one of the best meals we have had in a long time. The goats cheese salad starter was big enough to be a meal in its self. We were looked after very well and the staff were attentive and polite. All my guests were very happy with their meals which included whole lemon sole, liver, lamb and rib eye steaks which were all served with ample fresh veg. If you are in or near Sidmouth then you should add this restaurant to your list of places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.1 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II* listed building The Bedford Hotel is a 3*** hotel run by the Pyne Family. Located at the heart of Sidmouth seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking views of Lyme Bay. All rooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. There is lift access to both floors. The hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing