We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to know how good a family run hotel can be - try this one!”
Review of The Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bedford Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sunbury on Thames
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Want to know how good a family run hotel can be - try this one!”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

After spending so many years staying in large, soul-less chain-owned hotels, how nice it was to stay in an hotel with some character. Comfortable and clean, a wonderful sea view from my room and a restaurant that was so good, I didn't feel motivated to sample the dining options elsewhere. The staff are warm, friendly, courteous and efficient. The a wireless network worked well in my room (on the first floor). How wonderful it was to fall asleep to the soporific rhythm of of the waves falling onto the beach across the road. A little gem of an hotel, I'll be back! Ps. Parking on the Eslpanade outside the hotel is free.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    117
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
82
188
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cornwall england
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were a party of 6 people & have just arrived back from our second New years Eve weekend stay at the Bedford Hotel Sidmouth... just had to type another review...about this great friendly hotel,.. we all had a brilliant time ... All. the food at both breakfasts & the evening dinners were exceptional. & the staff always smiling & so willing & helpful..... The hotel rooms were really plush all newly decorated & lashings of hot water always on tap...The views from the hotel which is on the esplanade are really stunning, I would like to thank the owners Beverly, Colin ,family & staff for another truely memorable weekend , & wishing them all the very best for 2012.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful sea views plus they are all newly decorated so I would be happy to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catCornwallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Could cope with the tiny double bed and even the old fashioned shower and 'en suite' that looked as if it was the wardrobe -but would have liked some sleep. The disco was so loud we could hear every word that the DJ said from our bed! It finally finished at 12.00, followed by people shouting outside our window. The continental breakfast the next day was small - no pastries, no croissants. Treated as second class citizens as we were 'groupon' guests. Would not go again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank littleconfused2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here in room 16 - double bed was tiny could not move or turn. Also be warned Christmas disco on at the minute so won't be able to sleep until 12am, called reception at 11am and they said they would turn it down but nothing happened. 16 is right above disco. Nice night away though overall-clean and tidy. Won't stay there again mind but would stay at Dukes-nice bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We paid £69 with Groupon for two people (£122 otherwise)
The car park a few paces from the front door cost £10 for 24 hours
Nice well established family run hotel, all clean, and in an excellent location.
Good Welcome Groupon deal explained
We had an inland bedroom, double aspect, very comfortable, nice new TV and good ensuite
All the staff very pleasant and well trained.
We had an excellent dinner, the deal included fish and chips, (Torbay Cod) or lasagne meat or vegetarian, glass of beer or wine. The fish and chips were light and tasty.
Continental breakfast was more than enough with fruit, cereals, yogurts, toast.
A very good deal, but as with all UK hotels the full rate would have been too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Very clean well presented old hotel. The rooms have obviously been modernised lately and mine was very nice, warm and comfortable, overlooking a very unwelcoming looking, November sea. breakfast and overall service excellent. would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, Wilts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed in October on a groupon offer which was good enough value. The hotel rooms have been redecorated and all is nice and tidy. The staff were friendly and the included Fish and Chips were very good. The cooked breakfast for an extra fiver was not too special but all in all we had a pleasant one night break in sleepy Sidmouth..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheEnglishAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bedford Hotel

Property: The Bedford Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#4 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade II* listed building The Bedford Hotel is a 3*** hotel run by the Pyne Family. Located at the heart of Sidmouth seafront means many rooms boast breathtaking views of Lyme Bay. All rooms are individually furnished, have flat screen televisions and en suite facilities. There is lift access to both floors. The hotel also has comfortable lounges and offers a wide selection of good food and wine in a choice of attractive surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your The Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bedford Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing