We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find on the seafront!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great find on the seafront!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Took a coach party to this hotel recommended by a friend. What a fabulous place. The warm welcome from Jo and the attention of the friendly staff throughout the hotel was excellent. The rooms were comfortable, sea view okay but noisy from teenagers on Saturday night on the promenade needs sorting by police! Food exquisite, menu choice extensive, must have put on a few kilos! Waitresses served with a smile, reception helpful. Can't fault it at all and will be back again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms may be subject to street noise especially at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank showcoachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Glad your enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    53
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
98
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stopped here for a sunday roast. Well had a great lamb roast, worth every penny and my partner had beef. Sat outside as the weather was great. The staff were very friendly and polite. I would recommend this hotel for a sunday lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your Sunday roast - can't beat the stunning view of the sea on a sunny day in Sidmouth whilst enjoying a meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had a lovely weekend on my own here chilling out. Fantastic sea view from my room with a nice little balcony. Had room service for dinner on my balcony watching the world go by! Good breakfast, and all the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. I had arranged parking in advance so I had an allocated spot waiting for me. Very convenient location for access to the sea and town.

Room Tip: It was worth having the room with the sea-view (first floor). It was a single, TINY and the shower c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMPAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

A real gem. Very friendly staff, immaculately clean hotel on the promenade. I stayed here with friends for one night while walking a section of the South West Coastal Path. Great facilities and a delicious breakfast cooked to order.

Room Tip: I had a single room with a sea view, the other singles are quite snug but perfectly adequate for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Another relaxing 2 night stay at the Kingswood & Devoran We are always made welcome, friendly Staff always willing to have a natter about anything. Food is excellent. Looking forward to another stay in the autumn. To recharge batteries before Christmas. Thelma & Chris Mead

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel situated on the sea front.
Had a nice room, although it was a side room.bathroom was rather small, with a corner shower that was just big enough to get in !
Nice touch having a DVD player in the room.
Would have liked to have had a choice of bar meals, as opposed to having to use expensive hotel restaurant.
Really pleasant staff, that couldn't have been more helpful.



Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

From the moment we entered the hotel to the time we left we were made to feel most welcome by the very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for everyone. This is a traditional hotel offering bed,breakfast,morning coffee, afternoon tea and dinner. It was the personal touches that made this special There was a varied menu with several choices at breakfast and dinner which was followed by coffee and mints in the lounge. We chose to stay in a sea view room with balcony which was exceptionally clean and comfortable with a wonderful sea view and enjoyed it so much that we have already booked again for later in the year.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are worth the extra money for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

Property: The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing retreat at the centre of Sidmouth's delightful regency seafront, now providing 50 bedrooms, whilst retaining the ambiance, service and hospitality for which the hotel has been known for nearly 100 years. With its close proximity to the town centre, it is ideal for exploring the towns excellent variety of independent shops. The flower filled patio and lounges both overlook the sea with stunning views of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingswood And Devoran Hotel
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing