We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
halesowen
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A very warm welcome awaits you. Tea/Coffee and lovely cakes to greet you. Not to mention tea & cakes every afternoon. Tea & Biscuits all readily available.
Lovely staff, very welcoming. Great service in the dining room and good food.
Sorry to say its average score comes down to the room allocated to us. It was very small, especially the bathroom. Also a few other problems with the room
I urge any one with a problem to take it up with the duty manager, which I did. No other rooms avaliable but it was a problem that was able to be sorted to my satisfaction.
The location was really good and enjoyed the sound of the sea just across from the hotel. Lovely shops around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halesowen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    56
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
102
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

5 nights at this hotel in July with service far beyond any other 3 star hotel I've ever stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff from breakfast to bedtime. Always smiling, always polite, always eager to help. Smart yet relaxed.
The hotel itself has the best position on the esplanade in my opinion with excellent sea views - the decor in the communal areas is excellent - very smart and clean - as were the rooms I experienced - has a 4 star feel in many areas!
Food: excellent.
Staff: excellent.
Comfort: excellent.
Decor: excellent.
Cleanliness: excellent.
Free wifi but signal not available in room - only downfall for me.
I would definitely recommend The Kingswood and Devoran Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearycoachdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alpharetta
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful and location could not have been better but the rooms were small. My mother had a single and it was tiny and our double was awfully tight as well. The bathrooms were also small. One morning there was no hot water in the single and the bathrooms are so challenged with space that having a shower was challenging each day. I also had the tiniest parking space and once I was in for the evening did not want to deal with having to go in and out again.
Breakfast were very nicely done and the food was always well cooked and hot. The average age of the clientele is way up there and I am sure many people come back year after year but a bit depressing to see so many elderly people for my 12 year old grandson. Perhaps not so bad when the English schoolkids are on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eyancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we've just got back from a short stay in sidmouth at the kingswood and devoran hotel situated on the lovely sae front., the hotel was a pure joy to stay at, the staff were very friendly and extremely efficient, the food was excellent always served hot and deliciously cooked the choice was perfect, something for all tastes, we had a sea view room which was lovely, it was clean, spacious, and very comfortable, it is well placed for all the lovely shops, the hotel was quiet and you are assured of a wonderful night's sleep and next morning there is a perfect choice of breakfasts to suit everyone's tastes. we will certainly be returning to this hotel as i've already said a pure joy,

Room Tip: seaviews are wonderful and a balcony is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first stay in Sidmouth, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a fantastic position overlooking the sea. We had booked a sea view room but had the added bonus of a balcony, plus an allocated parking space. The only minor quibble was the size of the shower room, but that is being really pernickety, because everything else was brilliant. The staff are all lovely, the breakfasts are good and service very quick. We spent several hours in the afternoons and evenings sitting outside enjoying a drink on the front patio area. My husband said the drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced which was a bonus, as was the free tea and coffee in the afternoons.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in 2013 and were impressed by the service of all staff, we had booked a sea view room and secured a parking bay. We felt we should return to ensure that what we had was the normal and so returned June 2014 Well our visit just proved that not only was last year the norm but this year had was just a joy. Granted we had wall to wall SUN but the Hotel is just very good value. If we have the Pennies and they have the space we will look to go again next year. The staff are exceptional!!

Room Tip: Sea view with Balcony is worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonymnn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were swept off our feet by the customer service and excellence of the food at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and the personal attention to every detail is impressive. Situated right on the front and just round the corner from the shops and the theatre (which has a different play every night of the season), it also has a private car park at the rear. The tea and small cakes at 4pm was an added bonus which was included for all guests.
Our balcony was wonderful though the shower ensuite was a little on the small side. Toiletries consist of hand wash and shower/hair wash but could have been enhanced by a body lotion to match. The hospitality tray was good and there is a ready supply of top ups downstairs.
This was the best money I have ever spent on an English break – we will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazy-kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel

Property: The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing retreat at the centre of Sidmouth's delightful regency seafront, now providing 50 bedrooms, whilst retaining the ambiance, service and hospitality for which the hotel has been known for nearly 100 years. With its close proximity to the town centre, it is ideal for exploring the towns excellent variety of independent shops. The flower filled patio and lounges both overlook the sea with stunning views of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingswood And Devoran Hotel
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing