We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
209
126
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
126
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view popular with locals fish pie sea front booked a table limited parking public car park lovely town checking out lovely food single room mini break short stay tea and coffee stayed for nights breakfast was excellent scones
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Stayed here with friends for two nights in October, both choosing sea view rooms (4 and 5). As others have said there is limited parking, but depending on the time of your arrival there is parking on the sea front, or in a pay car park about 200metres away.
This is a lovely hotel, with staff who go out of their way to help you, and we're all really friendly.
Room was great, lovely view, especially at sunrise. Lovely to walk out of the front door and then straight on to the seafront.
We ate in the restaurant one of the nights of our stay - do book a table, we would have eaten there both nights but the Saturday was fully booked. Great food in the restaurant.
Loved breakfast too - plenty of choices aside from the usual full English, as well as fruit/ cereal.
Quiet enough at night to have a window open and be woken by the seagulls!
Will definatley return, Sidmouth is a lovely little town, and Dukes make the stay even more perfect.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LoveourHolidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Devon for a week and came to Dukes twice during this stay because it was so good. People were friendly, quick service, amazing food and dog friendly. Definitely the best eatery we went to! Will come back again

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Verity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This pub/hotel is in great location on the seafront at Sidmouth. There is some limited car parking available for the lucky few. We had a very disappointing room. We had requested a sea view room, but did not expect it to be the size of a single room. The bathroom was the size of a small cupboard. This room should not be classed as a double! It is better to phone and check what room you are going to get then to book randomly for a double room through the brokering site. Avoid room 12A at all costs!

Apart from the room, the hotel was very pleasant and the restaurant served decent food at decent prices. The hotel manager, Dan was very helpful and his demeanour went some way to mitigating the poor room.

There are plenty of interesting things to do around, but Sidmouth as town, is dominated by charity shops, cafes and estate agents. Walks along the coast are far and away the best thing to do around here.

Room tip: Ask for a Sea View room (extra) but avoid room 12. It is NOT a double.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redkite-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We had a sea view room which was well proportioned, spacious bathroom and good tea/coffee making facilities. The beds were really comfortable. The food was stunning and like others managed to be there when it was really busy, but this appears to be the norm there! Staff were personable, professional and couldn't do enough for you. Not just one or two but everybody we interacted with from booking the room, arrival, restaurant, ad hoc coffees, through to the lady cleaning our room! We will be returning - a little gem in a lovely town!

Room tip: If you like looking out to sea then the rooms with sea views are worth going for!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SteveHuxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night. It was my favorite hotel during our 12-night vacation in England. The room was satisfactory, and the staff and the breakfast were fantastic. Our infant had gotten ill during our travels that day and we unexpectedly needed to wash her clothes. While they request in their guest information packet that laundry requests are made by 11am to be completed by next morning, they washed our clothing and returned it to us by next morning when we asked in the evening to have it completed. The cooked breakfast was good, and includes adorable miniature French pastries. The location in adorable Sidmouth was also wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews