We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely short stay”
Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked this seafront hotel primarily as a staging post for our main stay in Cornwall. Our two nights covered 5th & 6th July.

It was a wonderfully pleasant break helped of course by some sensational weather. We had a double room with a sea view (brilliant).

The staff were all, without exception, extremely friendly, helpful and....cheerful!

Our stay at the Elizabeth on DBB terms and the food was excellent value and unpretentious. And furthermore, there was pleny of it! Complimentary afternoon tea was also an added bonus.

Sidmouth is also a delight for shopping, walking and just relaxing.

Will happily stay again. Bill & Jean Smith

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Elizabeth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have visited this hotel several times over the last 5 years and have always been very
happy .This year we were very disappointed with the service ,mainly on the domestic side,our room was not cleaned properly and on one day was not cleaned at all.The receptionist was very
abrupt when we complained..We did not like the new menus much too fancy for us and portions
smaller.I dont think we will back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emrys1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are very disappointed to read your review, we take great pride in our housekeeping standards and it appears on this one occasion your room was overlooked by a new member of staff. Our receptionist would be mortified to think she had upset someone, I am sure this was never her intention, it may have been her frustration that the room had not been serviced and was upset on your behalf. We apologise if you felt this way. Food is a subjective issue with the style and type of dishes ever evolving with the tastes of customers consuming it. We always develop our menus with customer feedback taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Thank you all at the hotel Elizabeth. This is about the 5th/6th time we have stayed now and it just gets better. Clean and tidy rooms with all facilities you need. i.e. clean large towels etc. Very good food and very friendly staff. Well done again and we hope to see you very soon.

Room Tip: Sea view are probably the best but don't let put you off a side view still looks out to sea
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheneyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is located right on the sea front and very close to the town so the location is fantastic. Be wary though if the hotel hasn't got any parking spaces free as the parking is quiet expensive during the day. There is free parking on the street in the evenings and over the weekend in Sidmouth.
The hotel is an old fashioned type hotel. Most of the residents are well over 60. The rooms are situated over 3 or 4 floors and are good quality. There is a lift but it is so tiny! Only room for 2 people at the most.
We stayed in a side sea view and although it was quiet small, the standard was good. We had a flat screen TV but the signal is poor there so you couldn't really watch it. Having said that, we weren't there to watch TV.

Breakfast was very good quality. It is cooked fresh so you do have quiet a long wait if you go during the busy times. There is a wide range of other things to eat and it was all presented nicely,

There isn't a massive lot of things to do in Sidmouth. The town isn't very big but there are some nice shops to look around.

Next door to the hotel is the Dukes Restaurant. It is easliy the best place to eat in Sidmouth but it gets very busy so book in advance.

This was our second trip to the Hotel Elizabeth and we would definitely come again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilBJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

when we first arrived at this hotel for a meal we couldn't believe what a time warp it was, from its quirky little wooden bar in a setting a bit like a great aunts front parlour to the reception and hallway. On saying that the meal was lovely although a little too rushed for our liking, as within minutes of your order being placed the food was on the table, and likewise with the main course and dessert, so no time for breath in between. The staff were very friendly and efficient and catered to all their guests very well, as this and several hotels around it have repeat custom from the elderly cliental you can see why the hotel is as it is. The residents love it but not ideal for the slightly younger set. all in all a pleasant visit but not somewhere that I would chose to stay until I am at least 3 score years and 10.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for sharing your views. We are pleased you thought the staff were friendly and efficient. With regards to your meal, we are sorry your felt rushed, it is never our intention and is something we will address with our restaurant team. Sidmouth is a regency town and being a small family run, historical building on Sidmouth seafront it does have many original features of wooden panelling throughout our bar and lounge areas and something we feel fits in with the building, every year we reinvest in the décor and furniture within the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This is our fourth stay at the Hotel Elizabeth. Good value with the offer 4 nights for the price of three. Again excellent food with plenty of choice. Helpful and friendly staff. We had room 16 a nice large room with balcony and excellent views. All being well back again next year.

Room Tip: Make sure you book your car parking space in advance
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

we had a couple of nights in a small second floor room with side sea view, we booked dinner bed and breakfast. The room was very clean although quite small and overlooked Dukes restaurant which did get a bit noisy (Sat night party goers) not sure there are many police in Sidmouth! We were unable to secure a parking space(although we had requested one) so had to find a space on the road which was fine for us but more elderly may find that a challenge.The food was excellent with a varied menu each evening,you also kept the same table in the dinning room which was helpful.There was a lounge area with a bar but the seating needs updating as sofas not too comfortable.Overall we would visit again as hotel was quiet and relaxing.A good hotel which accommodates over 50"s quite well.

Room Tip: Phone and clarify room details as its hard to tell from internet photos.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kath398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £116 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Elizabeth is in an unsurpassed position at the centre of the Esplanade in the beautiful regency town of Sidmouth. All of our bedrooms offer stunning views over Lyme Bay and the red sandstone cliffs of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing