We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”
Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Have just picked up my mother from her 4 night stay, she goes twice a year. Once again she had a superb stay - attentive staff, good food (not able to eat spicy food), she loves her room overlooking the sea. Everything looked clean and as it should be, Thank you for looking after her so well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungry109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a two night stay at The Elizabeth on 26th/27th September and were not disappointed.
We have stayed at a few hotels in Sidmouth over the past few years and this one was as good as any. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained and run by very helpful staff.
The food was well prepared and presented and tables pleasantly set including fresh flowers and linen napkins. We has a sea view room with a balcony which we made good use of
The parking arrangements can be a little bit haphazard but staff do their best to please guests with what is available.
Breakfast was particularly good with everything perfectly cooked and tasty.
Guests were able to enjoy complimentary coffee each morning and tea and cake in the afternoon.
Overall there was nothing to find fault with - an enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: Room 12 is a twin room with balcony and good modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

It was our second stay at this Hotel in recent years and it was every bit as good second time round. The rooms are spotlessly clean & the breakfast is excellent. What makes this a great hotel are the staff. They are responsive and helpful. There is no excuse for having a gripe & not giving the staff a chance to put it right!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gab160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Managed to get a last min room on one of the busiest weekends of the year, staff went above and beyond to accomodate and adjusted a twin into a double without being asked.

breakfast well organised and tasty, will stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have just returned from treating ourselves to an 8-night stay for the duration of the Sidmouth Folk Week. The Elizabeth is one of the Sidmouth Hotels Group that occupy a prime position on prom. The food was excellent, but what really made our stay so pleasant was the quality of the staff. Everyone with whom we came into contact was efficient, attentive and genuinely keen to make our holiday as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjbTorbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The location, staff and food at this hotel were all great, so it is hard to give the hotel a bad review, BUT the moldy smell in the hotel was awful! We noticed it immediately when entering the hotel, but it was so bad in our room- the bathroom in particular- we would have changed hotels if it was not for our arrival later at night after a long drive and the fact we were travelling with parents. The hotel is very old, and the room we stayed in definitely needed an update, maybe some of the other rooms had been updated? We were on the top floor. It was not very clean either. We were very disappointed, as were really looking forward to the oceanfront rooms with a great view. Our son was given a mattress put on the dirty carpeted floor to sleep on rather than a bed.
Although not the hotel's fault, it was very noisy at night with the seagulls.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rastabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Hotel Elizabeth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We were extremely disappointed to read your review, had you mentioned it directly to us we would have been able to look at alternative rooms for your stay. All of our rooms have been redecorated over the last few years and being a Victorian building we have decorated it sympathetically to the hotels age, we are sad to hear you felt it needed updating. Your son was given a 'z' bed which does have a base on the floor but is at a lower height than the standard beds in the room.We would love it if you could contact us directly to speak to you about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked this seafront hotel primarily as a staging post for our main stay in Cornwall. Our two nights covered 5th & 6th July.

It was a wonderfully pleasant break helped of course by some sensational weather. We had a double room with a sea view (brilliant).

The staff were all, without exception, extremely friendly, helpful and....cheerful!

Our stay at the Elizabeth on DBB terms and the food was excellent value and unpretentious. And furthermore, there was pleny of it! Complimentary afternoon tea was also an added bonus.

Sidmouth is also a delight for shopping, walking and just relaxing.

Will happily stay again. Bill & Jean Smith

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyGSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £98 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Elizabeth is in an unsurpassed position at the centre of the Esplanade in the beautiful regency town of Sidmouth. All of our bedrooms offer stunning views over Lyme Bay and the red sandstone cliffs of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing