We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most relaxing holiday for ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elizabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Elizabeth
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most relaxing holiday for ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

First class service from the minute we arrived
Twin room with juliet balcony overlooking sea, very clean and comfortable, bath/shower
5 mins walk from bus stop to exeter, car parking to rear of hotel
great food ( half board ) only problem they didn't know the meaning of small portions!!
desserts to die for,
Can't think of any negatives

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danbeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    44
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
78
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

The Elizabeth is a traditional hotel, beautifully situated right on the sea front. Everything about it is lovely - the setting, the meals, the kindness and courtesy of all the staff and the spotlessly clean rooms. We would recommend it without hesitation. It caters for mainly an elderly clientele; there are few if any children. But this makes the atmosphere quiet and relaxing at all times. It really is a splendid place and we cannot wait to return. Excellent value for money. As another reviewer has said above - it's a gem!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed here for 1 night at short notice after a disappointment elsewhere.We were offered £14pp off the standard rate, we paid £90 B&B
THe hotel is on Sidmouth seafront & has an attractive entrance area. There are 4 hotels in a row owned by the same family.
We were given a " compact " double with sea view.Yes, the room was fairly small but more than adequate for our short stay.It was on the 3rd floor with sloping ceilings.The room was spotless & recently redecorated. It had a lovely shower room, & all the usual TV, kettle etc.
The only downside was it was next to the very old & very noisy lift! ( Room 35 ). This wasn't really a problem, nobody used it after 10pm, or before 7am.
The hotel has a nice bar area & a terrace outside for fine weather. They have a car park, but in March we parked right outside overnight.
Breakfast was good, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, juices etc followed by a choice of cooked breakfasts. The hottest breakfast I've evrer had, served on scorching hot plates with as much toast as you wanted.
The hotel only charges £10 pp extra for a 5 course evening dinner. We were too late for that, but the menu looked good & people we spoke too said it was pretty good value.For £10 you can't really go wrong I'd say, judging by the breakfast.
Woulde I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamahen46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

Room very good, clean and modern bathroom. We had a balcony room with superb views. Have to book parking in advance, which was good and off road. Food okay, could be better. Downside for us was that the reception area and lounge had vases of lilies, which were beautiful but very strong smelling, so our daughter who has asthma could not stay in those areas at all. We took our 2 year old granddaughter and a booster seat was provided in the dining room and she was made very welcome. Overall we were happy with the accommodation and when we visit Sidmouth again we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elizabeth

Property: Hotel Elizabeth
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elizabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Elizabeth is in an unsurpassed position at the centre of the Esplanade in the beautiful regency town of Sidmouth. All of our bedrooms offer stunning views over Lyme Bay and the red sandstone cliffs of the World Heritage Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Elizabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elizabeth Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing