We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights at Brookfields”
Review of Brookfields B&B

Brookfields B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookfields B&B
Ranked #20 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were met with a friendly smile and cup of tea and cake. The room was very well equipped and spotless if a little small. However, we were changing rooms for the second night and this was excellent, spacious and again spotlessly well equipped. The owners did everything to ensure we had the breakfast we wanted and nothing was too much trouble. It was a very quiet location yet very close to Sidmouth, easily found with the clear instructions. All rooms were on the ground floor and accessible to anyone with a disability. Precise details of what is possible would be available from the very helpful owners. Further improvements are in the pipeline for a separate shower addition in the room with a step-in bath/shower. Very comfortable beds!

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were very good. Bedside lamps became very hot and the switches behind the bedside d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffanddenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our second stay at Brookfields (we stayed in July 2013), and it was the same first class hospitality as before. David and Rosemary really do go the extra mile for you and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Watching the Germany demolition of Brazil in David's lounge alongside a lovely gentleman from Babbacombe, Torquay, who was playing in a bowls tournament with his wife.

The only sad part of our stay, was learning that dear old Axi, the Alsatian with the personality of a big teddy bear, had died just a few weeks previously, but she had been replaced with Astra, another friendly dog, adored by both our girls.

Once again, a massive thank you to David and Rosemary for a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Salisbury67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked this B&B for our daughter Jayne's new husband and his family over the weekend of their wedding, they had a fantastic stay nothing was too much trouble, they went the extra mile to make the weekend fantastic for them. They even came out late at night with there lovely car tied up with ribbons and just married sign to take Jayne and Dave to their wedding night venue in Sidmouth. I would give this B&B a gold star everything about it is fantastic, food, rooms and especially the love people who run it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevonEnglandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Brookfields was perfect for our holiday to Devon. David and Rosemary made us feel very welcome. The portable ramp to the front door was already in place. We were able to park right outside, all level outside. Inside was all on one level, with wooden floors, making it easy for Mum to get around. The bathroom ( wet room) was well equipped with a frame round the loo, which is slightly higher than average, a perching stool and a drop down shower seat and rails within the shower area. We were able to move a wooden armchair into the dining room area for Mum to use instead of the dining chairs. The bedroom was spacious enough for manoeuvring with a walker and if you need to use a wheelchair all the time there is plenty of space to rearrange the room to suit you, eg getting into bed a specific side. The only thing that might be difficult is the gradient of the ramp. I managed to push Mum up and down but it was a bit on the steep side, specially if you were self propelling. The doors were wider than average too, except the door into the bathroom which was a normal width.

The food and the hospitality were as everyone else has said and we enjoyed the fact that everyone sat at one big dining table at breakfast which made it much more friendly. All in all a home from home and I would happily go again and as seasoned users of b+bs with my Mum this place was by far the best, in meeting her needs.

Room Tip: The green room if you have mobility problems is the one to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank monty085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Extremely comfortable. One is made very welcome and with a cream tea on arrival. Great hospitality but like staying with friends. Very relaxing, nice room and very well equipped bathroom.
If you are lucky enough to have an evening meal, take the opportunity. Great fresh food.

Room Tip: The green room if you are disabled. Good bathroom facilities but not overdone. Still homely !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Brookfields is a real find. Well located in a charming part of Devon, near the coast and not far from Cornwall, Rosemary and David furnish a warm welcome, supplemented by their super-friendly dog Axy (for Axel Rose, although female - and she especially loves kids). The accommodations are charming, spotless, and all one could want. I generally am not personally wild about b and b's but this was an exception for me: an excellent choice, providing every comfort one could imagine. And the English Breakfasts are, of course, brilliant. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afainberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

From the moment we arrived the owners David and Rosemary were perfect hosts, offering advice on where to go, where to eat and how to get around. We were on a semi mini break/business trip as we were researching the area with a view to buying a business. They were helpful, considerate and wonderful where our two year old son was concerned.
The breakfasts are perfect and there is so much choice. Nothing is too much for these hosts. They are clearly heavily involved with their own local community and contribute to their immediate surroundings as well as running a first rate B&B.
The house is in a nice quiet location in the village of Newton Poppleford, but close to all the major East Devon towns. The house itself is warm, welcoming and accommodating. Our room was up to date, nicely furnished and contained everything we needed to keep a two year old entertained. They really have thought of everything from games to a changing mat and even a potty. Fantastic! There is a nice mix of vintage and modern throughout and the living room is a constant hub of activity, shared with the owners and guests. We arrived during a bit of a personally sad week for them, but they remained cheerful and attentive.
If we decide to locate our business and home in East Devon we will not hesitate to book into Brookfields. Judging by other reviews I have read on here David & Rosemary seem to cater to everyone and have a clear understanding of what is needed to keep the young, old and families satisfied. I wish all B&B's were as good as this one. They will never need to take advice from Alex Polizzi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarplum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
3.1 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
155 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
2.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfields B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfields B&B

Address: Brookfields Venn Ottery Road | Newton Poppleford, Sidmouth EX10 0BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in a quiet yet central setting very close to pub restaurants, public transport and attractions. We cater for all ages, including the elderly, disabled and young families. WiFi, fax and printer services available. We offer a very personalised service with breakfast when you want it. Play area for children, cream teas included, use of lounge and facilities for the disabled. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookfields B&B Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing