We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual Beer Festival - excellent weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Otter Inn - CLOSED

The Otter Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annual Beer Festival - excellent weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We've been to this pub many times and can only say we always enjoy our time there and are very sorry to leave the area as we all miss going here.
There are well kept real ales (and a fine selection of lagers and wines).
We always have a great time at the annual beer festival during May, with a selection of gravity delivered ales, BBQ food and live music.
The food is well above average, with a fine selection based on local produce. There is a standard menu and an excellent specials board.
In the summer the outside, facilities are just what you want for a family in the early evening with a play area and a bouncy castle to help wear the kids out a bit before bedtime.
After dark it's nice to sit outside in the heart of the countryside.
Probably the best thing to say is how many people seem to go back over and over again.
We are already looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shall45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    21
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY SUNDAY CARVERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Enjoyed a lovely Sunday carvery here last weekend. The carvery was delicious, tasty meat and a good selection of vegetables. Staff were friendly but not intrusive, and were helpful with highchairs. Two of us also had the crumble which was super. Just wish we could have stayed longer in the garden with the children, but the weather wasn't good! Will certainly visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank badbabe038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One poor meal has changed my view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We've been to this pub several times over the years and would probably have rated it as above average, but this visit was different. The waitress who took the order was polite and pleasant. After a fairly long wait the meals arrived and I noted that my fish (I ordered cod and chips) was rather small and the batter was badly burned in part. Upon dismantling a large layer of burnt batter there was probably no more fish than in a fish finger!
When a different waitress came to collect our plates and asked if the meal was OK I politely said that the fish was very small and that a large part of the batter was inedible.
She returned from the kitchen saying that the chef was surprised and that customers came to the Otter Inn for the fish! I certainly won't be returning for a scorched tiddler.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice friendly staff,excellent for kids.good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

very impressed with this pub,visited here a few times.last visit was on a scorching hot afternoon.we stopped in there for some tea and drinks after a day trip to crealy.they've got a fantastic beer garden with childrens play area and a bouncy castle.the kids were straight on the castle!there was a fair few people there eating and drinking and all the staff were very warm and welcoming.got a really lovely laid back feeling to this place,very comfortable.drinks were your average pub prices and good selection of meals.food is obviously home made and very tasty.not cheap but you get what you pay for.have also attended a wake at this pub and staff were very smart and polite.the food was excellent and was served in a large room at the back of the pub.they made a real effort and everything went really well.would reccomend this place,very good if you have small children.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jannergirl793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, staff very friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Well what can I say!! Fantastic service, great staff and lovely food. I haven't enjoyed such great service in a long time. I just wished we lived closer so we could visit more often. Will have to book holiday in Exmouth for next year just so we can visit the pub again!!! X

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Otter Inn also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing