We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Otter Inn - CLOSED

The Otter Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stopped at the Otter Inn for lunch on the way to dropping our daughter off at University in Exeter. It was 10 mins off the main road but well signposted - don't worry when you go through the middle of an industrial estate. The location was pretty and quiet.

The menu is varied and the range of beers looks good (though I was driving so didn't get a chance to try them). The burger was huge and succulent and the pie of the day and sweet potato tagine tasted good too. They seem to do a range of pensioners offers too.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    21
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a family friendly setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We ate here twice during our recent holiday to Exmouth. The food was by far the best quality we had during our visit across various eateries and the price compared favourably. From the salad dressing to the chips to the Otter Pie, sticky ribs, sesame prawns...well, you get the picture - everything was spot on with good service. Thanks go specifically to the chef for preparing such well cooked dishes. Our 3 yr old enjoyed the outside play area too. Wish we lived closer as we would visit regularly if we could!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolz72Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Annual Beer Festival - excellent weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We've been to this pub many times and can only say we always enjoy our time there and are very sorry to leave the area as we all miss going here.
There are well kept real ales (and a fine selection of lagers and wines).
We always have a great time at the annual beer festival during May, with a selection of gravity delivered ales, BBQ food and live music.
The food is well above average, with a fine selection based on local produce. There is a standard menu and an excellent specials board.
In the summer the outside, facilities are just what you want for a family in the early evening with a play area and a bouncy castle to help wear the kids out a bit before bedtime.
After dark it's nice to sit outside in the heart of the countryside.
Probably the best thing to say is how many people seem to go back over and over again.
We are already looking forward to the next visit.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shall45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“LOVELY SUNDAY CARVERY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Enjoyed a lovely Sunday carvery here last weekend. The carvery was delicious, tasty meat and a good selection of vegetables. Staff were friendly but not intrusive, and were helpful with highchairs. Two of us also had the crumble which was super. Just wish we could have stayed longer in the garden with the children, but the weather wasn't good! Will certainly visit again when next in the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank badbabe038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One poor meal has changed my view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

We've been to this pub several times over the years and would probably have rated it as above average, but this visit was different. The waitress who took the order was polite and pleasant. After a fairly long wait the meals arrived and I noted that my fish (I ordered cod and chips) was rather small and the batter was badly burned in part. Upon dismantling a large layer of burnt batter there was probably no more fish than in a fish finger!
When a different waitress came to collect our plates and asked if the meal was OK I politely said that the fish was very small and that a large part of the batter was inedible.
She returned from the kitchen saying that the chef was surprised and that customers came to the Otter Inn for the fish! I certainly won't be returning for a scorched tiddler.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Otter Inn also viewed

 
Budleigh Salterton, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing