We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Night Stay - Early Season Break”
Review of Royal Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Glen Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 Night Stay - Early Season Break”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Keith & Jeanne M

We have visited the Royal Glen for quite a few years now and it never ceases to be a pleasure. It is really suitable for older people like us who enjoy real 'home comfort' and very friendly staff but having said that I am sure the younger set would also appreciate the calm atmosphere. The food is excellent and the room very comfortable. Looking forward to our next visit at some future date !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for making a review, we are pleased that you find 'the Glen' an easy place to relax as we think its really important on a holiday to feel 'at home' , looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    41
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
61
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very comfortable stay in Edward room. A friendly and professional service by all staff as usual.
This was our 20th successive year of staying at The Royal Glen! This speaks volumes and we are NOT unimaginative cranks!

Room Tip: Edward has plenty of space and the bathroom (bath and shower over) has its own window so lots of lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anula2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The welcome was even warmer than before. I could not fault any of the staff who are like old friends greeting us back to 'our home'. Food excellent, room excellent etc. etc. I wish I could find some faults then I would have something to write about.

Room Tip: Since the lift has been installed it is easy to get to any room even with my knees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Would definitely stay here again when I'm down on business next year. A lovely old building in a great location, just a few hundred yards from the seafront, and lovely and quite. Booked a small single but got upgraded to a double. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Easy to park as well, which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Again our family re visits Sidmouth during June, when it comes to some where to stay,
The listed building, friendly staff, and the charm of relaxing in the grounds, even a quick game of putting while the family re groups is such a homely feel. Our special treat is afternoon "Cream Tea in the drawing room. its just unique!
very well run family hotel.
Comfort and cleanliness another reason for our continual return to the Royal Glen Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Highly recommend Sidmouth for a trip to an unspoilt English seaside town. No amusement arcades, no cheap pubs, just lovely independent shops, pubs and restaurants, and a great beach and promenade . Very rare treat. The Royal Glen shares the local traits. Lovely independent hotel with great staff. Very well maintained, very comfortable, a pleasure to stay here. Suitable for all ages. We first came here when our oldest was 2 years old and we now have a younger son also and we have stayed at the Royal Glen every year since (our oldest is now 6). Close to Pecorama, which has a great children's play area. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Edward room is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
thank you for your review and giving future vsitors some insight in the area too. We look forward to welcoming you again, and Best Wishes for a lovely Christmas to all the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was our fifth stay here. This is a family run hands on hotel and a lot of the staff have been there for years. There is everything you could want from an English breakfast and the evening meals are superb. They use local produce whenever possible. If you particularly want fish it is advisable to get down to the dining room early.

The 10m swimming pool was lovely,very clean and WARM.

This is a hotel where you feel really wanted and everyone is helpful and accommodating. If you want discos and nightclubs keep away. This is a peaceful establishment. All the guests talk to each other and have interesting conversations in the bar after dinner.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Room 22 has a shower that is too small. It all depends what you want from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary C, Owner at Royal Glen Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for making a review, we look forward to welcoming you back again, so pleased you enjoyed the conversations and discussions in the bar, this is certainly one of the enjoyable aspects of the hospitality industry, meeting and conversing with interesting people. Kind Regards Hilary & Vivienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Glen Hotel

Property: Royal Glen Hotel
Address: Glen Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Glen is situated in its own secluded garden, 500 yards from the seafront esplanade. There is parking for 25 cars, a small gym and indoor heated pool. The restaurant serves a 4 course table d'hote menu with choices using Devon produce. The bar offers a comprehensive wine list & the Drawing room opens out on to a sunny veranda. The grade 1 listed building has accommodation in both traditional and contemporary styles. The family run Royal Glen offers personal service in a friendly atmosphere. It is ideally situated for exploring the county and coast from the beautiful resort of Sidmouth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Glen Hotel Sidmouth, Devon
Royal Glen Sidmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing