We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect break”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
GB
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A perfect break”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just returned from a lovely three day break at this fabulous hotel. Yes, it's expensive, but you really get what you pay for. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere was superb and we were made to feel very special.
We shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: Do try to get a sea view if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grafenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    157
    47
    10
    3
See reviews for
187
427
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupar in Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My parents asked me to sumit this review as they were so impressed with this hotel: My wife and I spent a three-day break at the Brend Hotels' flagship hotel in Sidmouth, Devon, over Oct. 6 to Oct.9 to celebrate out Golden Wedding. It was a memorable occasion in many ways, made possible by pleasant and efficient staff, and courtesy upgrade by senior staffer, Clare, who deserves due praise for her enterprise and initiative in making our stay so wonderful. As a family run business, we cannot praise Brend enough at a time when service and courtesy are the prerequisites of a pleasant stay. We shall return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torranceclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

It was my husband's Birthday four days ago, and on the spur of the moment I booked to dine. Gladrags on, and accompanied by our younger daughter (studying at York Uni), we arrived about 30 minutes early. We were warmly welcomed by the Maitre d' and escorted to a table. The cutlery was sparkling, the ambience was the equivalent of having a warm hug in a palatial setting.
The food was outstanding, perhaps with one slight hiccup -apparently the kitchen was very busy and my sea bass, when it arrived, was tepid and overcooked, although all the accompaniments were first rate. Our daughter loved being called 'madam' when she was served her fruit tea in the lounge (one of twelve varieties, I am to understand!) -we normally call her 'madam' for somewhat more cynical reasons! This hotel goes to great lengths to offer a professional and very friendly service, and I can only assume there is a very strong sense of pride underpinning everything, even the tiniest details, such as knowing which coat belonged to whom at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadenmind24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Every year my family visit the Victoria for good quality family time. This hotel is expensive for accomodation but one of the UK's nicest and respected hotels by the 80% of returning guests!!! as we discovered on our last visit. We enjoy the surroundings, delicious food, excellent service and proximity to some of Devons greatest attractions. This is a gem and one which should be enjoyed, it is full of the 'older generation' but has so much to offer every age group.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We first stayed at the Victoria over twenty years ago and have returned many times since.
It's been a five year gap since our last visit, and what doesn’t change? So with some trepidation we returned for a weekend hoping that we would not be disappointed, and that the "Old Girl" would still be as we remembered. She was, in fact from the usual friendly welcome at reception to the reassurance that several of the staff we remembered were still there, all was as we remembered and good as before!
The Victoria retains the quality, elegance and sense of old fashioned tradition and heritage that you seldom find in today’s "modern box" hotels. Our room (204) was superb, fantastically comfortable huge bed, massive bathroom with his and hers basins, large bath and separate shower cubicle. Wonderful views of the sea and splendid gardens. Fresh fruit, flowers and everything one could want made our all too short break special.
The wonderful gardens and pool area are still as we remembered. Fortunate to have good weather we relaxed sunbathed and swam, virtually alone. With the children back in school, the average age of our fellow residents was quite senior. The putting green must have the finest view in England, which may account for how I lost to my wife who never plays!
The dining room was again as attractive as ever. Food over two nights "table d hote" was very good with local produce to the fore and quite impeccable service. Marvelous wine list! In fact all the staff from the hall porters, waiters, receptionists to management were all amenable and asked repeatedly "how we were" were we enjoying ourselves" etc Wife on mentioning that she was going to our room for a cup of tea, was immediately asked would you like fresh milk sent up to your room, which arrived within minutes!
Attmitidly the Vic does cater for the older more affluent clientele. With a huge percentage of guests returning time after time. Reassured that in this age of plastic / fast food / box hotels the Victoria stand’s out. Retaining its air of refined grandeur that we love and find so reassuring.

Well done Brend Hotels the Victoria is a credit to you and a place we continue to love. Like a famous American general once said “we will return”.

Room Tip: 204 is a fabulous suite with wonderful sea views and fantastic facilites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_doubler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Despite our initial feeling that the price per person rate was a somewhat devious way of overcharging for a double room, this is a hotel that actually delivers on everything you would hope for and expect for £400 a night.

The Victoria just oozes old-world charm, and quite clearly the staff have been trained to put the customer at the very centre of their world. The rooms are elegant, the beds large and comfortable and the food is excellent.

I also liked the allocated table arrangement in the dining room. We stayed two nights, and were reluctant to leave - expensive but worth it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Its not cheap but you get what you pay for. Excellent service, wonderful well equipped room , excellent food and old fashioned service. Would happily stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: Well equipped bathroom, very comfy bed and very clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing