We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just celebrated our anniversary at this hotel. It is very grand and old fashoned. As a couple we enjoyed the hotel at a quiet time, which suited us greatly. The room furnishing are to a hgh standard, and everywhere is designed for comfort. The staff are very friendly and helpful, which greatly adds to the atmosphere. There was even a fan in the room if you should require it. The room was tidied and the bed turned down every evening.

Only problem was the hot tub was only warm. Although I mentioned this on the first day it was still too cold to be of any benefit as a hot tub on the second day, which was a disappointment but did not ruin the bank holiday break.

Room Tip: A sea view makes all thedifference-
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    149
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
173
405
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is one of old-fashioned charm, elegance and quality. The staff were consistently friendly, helpful and pleasant, always willing to help but not 'in your face'.

My room (single) was very well presented with plenty of extra comforts to make the stay enjoyable. My only small gripe was a draught coming under the main door, which I could imagine would be unpleasant and unwelcome in the winter. I personally would have preferred a duvet to tightly tucked in sheets, which I had to tug open to even get into the bed.

The food was of any excellent standard throughout. My beef was some of the best I've ever had on our first night. The restaurant staff were attentive. Personally, I found the musical quartet annoying and too loud - certainly not my taste in music but too loud to ignore. The pianist on the other night was better and more subtle.

Very pleasant lounge overlooking the sea - a welcome escape from the wild wind! Can imagine that the outdoor tables would be lovely in the sunshine in the summer.

A 10 minute walk into the town, which is full of small independent shops in a pedestrian area, full of little treasures. Try to visit the Sidmouth Museum for a glance at the town's history. Delightful.

Room Tip: Sea views are probably the best but all of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernstarajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have just spent three nights in this hotel
and had a pleasant stay. There are some good points and some bad. The decor is elegant and traditional. Our bedroom was well decorated but rather small. I am petite and found the size merely adequate. However the bathroom was very modern,stylish and spotless. The restaurant staff were friendly,helpful and efficient. I found the breakfast a little uninspiring,as I do not eat red meat. There were no vegetarian alternatives. Most of the meals were excellent but make sure you do not order turkey, as it is rolled and sliced (very plastic ). Also the vegetables were various but bland and reminiscent of pub dishes. Fortunately the puddings were excellent.
Apart from being able to use the swimming pool, I do not think the cost, which was nearly double the cost of our stay in the Imperial Hotel at Barnstaple, was warranted.
Will we come to again - maybe if there are some good offers.
Sidmouth town has some lovely shops and tea rooms, but the sea front is very drab,colourless and tired. Whilst I would hate a Blackpool look alike, some fresh paint and a few flower displays would make a big difference.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This very grand hotel has clearly recently had a huge amount spent on refurbishing it, (you can still smell the fresh paint) with sumptuous soft furnishings and wonderful comfort for the elderly bones that sink into the well upholstered chairs. The youngest residents are probably in their 70's though, so it was a pleasure to see people properly dressed for dinner for a change (jackets and ties required in the dining room). The hotel's facilities are wonderful (lovely outdoor pool with an indoor one too, sauna, snooker room, miniature golf) and beautifully manicured gardens. Our room was very spacious and beautifully appointed. Staff are almost exclusively British, though not particularly well trained (the waiter wanted to top up our brandy glasses rather than bring fresh ones, then didn't remove our empty ones. The (new) barmaid was over-familiar, and the member of staff in charge of the dining room at breakfast was unsmiling and inefficient. It's not quite as good as it thinks it is, but still much better than many, but certainly not great for younger people looking for a bit more life!

Room Tip: Room 215 with a sea view was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Victoria Hotel is all it says it is. It's elegant, well maintained and the standard of service is excellent, but a doorman and restaurant and bar staff always around together with musical accompaniment at dinner all cost a bit extra so don't expect a cheap visit! Meals are varied and there is a good choice but the side dish of vegetables at dinner was a bit of a let down for us. We had a requirement for gluten free which was catered for very well except perhaps in the dessert section when fruit salad was offered as the main alternative (there were some other possibilities). However, when we asked if something could be done we had excellent service from the restaurant management staff and the following night alternatives were available on the menu. The restaurant, which insist on jacket and tie for men, is well presented and eating in it was a pleasure with attentive staff. We had the same table allocated to us for both breakfast and dinner during our stay which avoids the problem that occurs sometimes of scrambling for a table at breakfast! Our room, overlooking the sea was warm and comfortable, well appointed and clean. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Famseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were looking for a Sidmouth hotel with sea views and the Westcliff was full (in early May!) but the next door hotel, the Victoria, had just one room available - The Victoria Suite, the best in the place. It has sea views so my wife booked it!

The parking is somewhat restricted at the hotel but we arrived just after lunch and parked up easily. The welcome at reception was professional but LOUD - a clue to the clientele. We were shown our room by two very helpful doormen/porters (who later reappeared as waiters in the restaurant at dinner). The room was fantastic, more an apartment than a hotel room, very clean and tidy with good facilities. All the staff were polite and helpful, from the duty manager downwards.

We were booked on a half board package so went to dinner in the hotel restaurant - gentlemen are required to wear jackets and ties, something I really dislike but tolerated fairly easily because of the unseasonably low temperatures. This requirement, along with the greeting, should have forewarned us but at dinner we were rather surprised to be one of only two or three couples below 60! I suspect that, on any given evening in May, there are more artificial hips in the Victoria's dining room than on the orthopaedic wards of your local hospital. :) We were shown to a small table about as far from the large windows as one could get. We assumed this was probably because of the presence of a large coach party. We asked, after dinner, to be moved to another table, closer to the windows but, although the party left the next morning, nothing was done for the next day and we were only given another table - with sea glimpses - after we complained on the second evening of our three night stay. The restaurant service was good and the waiting staff were friendly and polite but the whole atmosphere was rather reverential.

All this would have been tolerable if the food had lived up to what we expected from a 4 star hotel with one rosette for food but it did not. The table d'hote dishes lacked ambition, imagination and technical skill but were edible. The food was even worse on the second evening, with the garnish on the main course comprising a whole, char grilled scallion with its "beard" of roots still attached! Added to this, I cut into a roast potato to find that it was rotten. This totally put me off my food and I was forced to complain. The staff listened very sympathetically and were the model of politeness. Acceptable "compensation" was provided and I think that our comments on the food were relayed to the kitchen brigade because the food on our last night was in a whole better league than on the two days.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Victoria, but mainly because of the room we were in. The hotel, certainly out of school holidays, caters for people who are in the older age groups and is very traditional - hence the senior waiters wearing tail coats and the requirement for male guests to wear jackets and ties in the restaurant. Indeed, we would not have been surprised to meet Miss Marple entering or leaving the dining room. :)

This hotel is virtually unique in 2013, as it seems to be more suited to 1953 (although it does have a lovely indoor heated swimming pool and an outdoor one as well)! Provided you understand, and can tolerate - even enjoy - its characteristics you can have a pleasant stay. Just make sure that you keep the kitchen brigade on their toes by not accepting their poorer offerings without complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruralidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is a first class hotel. My wife took me here for my birthday and we had a 2 night half board package.

The service from all the staff was superb, they are highly trained and nothing is too much trouble. The room with a sea view wasn't massive but fine for a weekend. The food was excellent and the quantity was more than you usually get from a hotel.

So now for the title of the review. The hotel is so old-fashioned that it is charming. It is part of the family owned Brend group and we will certainly try the others. Please do not modernise it. The clientèle is of the senior nature and the zimmers can cause traffic jams.

The hotel employ a falconer to keep the sea-gulls away and we were privileged to watch him work his birds.

My wife and I have recently been to so called 'top hotels' in the UK and we have been disappointed. The Victoria shows that we can still do it in the UK. If you are looking for a quiet short break in a lovely quaint seaside town then ignore the cost come here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerB1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing