We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
US$196
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
US$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
807
196
57
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
196
57
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite roomjubilee restaurantjacket and tiefirst classsea viewbrend familydress codebrend hoteloutdoor poolputting greendining roomchristmas decorationswonderful hotelstaff were attentivetop classexcellent foodthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

What can I say apart from AMAZING!! Stayed here over night with my partner and had a surprise proposal :) staff were excellent, outside pool was lovely and heated, room was beautiful with amazing views, was so nice to sit in the balcony to eat breakfast with a beautiful sea view. And of course the main 5 course meal was lovely, looked amazing and taste was out of this world :) well done Victoria we will c u soon x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbell2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went to a Wedding Here, the ceremony was a the Belmont Hotel (sister hotel to the Victoria which has the licence) and the reception/afternoon tea was at the Victoria.

We stayed here many years ago before moving to Devon and this hotel has all the old fashioned charm.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the food was superb.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the top floor with flat roof - the seagulls do a tap dance. The rooms tend to be a bit hot too.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Lazybonestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here from 19th August to 21st August and had a great stay.
The hotel is very grand and has exceptional service, you get what you pay for here.
It is for the more mature customer and there were not many young couples or children.
We only had room only as we planned to be out and about the Devon coast so did not want to be tied down to the hotel so i cannot comment on the food at all
All i can say is that the room we had did have a partial sea view and the sun came up right into our room in the morning. It was well maintained and very clean. Nothing out of the ordinary. The staff were very efficient but i felt distant and not very chatty, maybe because we didn't use the facilities very much.We did have some drinks in the lounge area and was served quickly and efficiently. We did have an incident, we had a leak in the ceiling in our bathroom, coming from the room above. We called reception and someone came up straight away. They went upstairs to the room above and found out that the occupants above had both taken a shower. They could not fix the leak straight away but gave us another room to take a shower in as i did not fancy taking a bath with someone elses water dripping on me. It was dealt with quickly but no apology and when i mentioned at check out they did not really seem bothered.
So in summary, would i stay here again? No not if i was using this as a base to see the Devon coast as its expensive and to get the benefits you have to use the facilities.Meals and drinks are expensive and you can get a good breakfast in Sidmouth for £7 and not pay the £27 in the hotel. Hotel is very classy but its an old building with creaking floors all over the place and in my opinion a bit stuffy. If you have read my ratings in other hotels you will see i have experienced very classy hotels and in September we are going to Dubai again staying in the Atlantis on the palm Hotel so i do know about top hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAWN1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room overlooking the sea in this fantastically located hotel. The reception staff were all superb as was the waitress who served us for a relaxed lunch in the lounge. Alas the downside appeared as we were not on half board. This seemed to be a real issue for some reason. However our food was superb and enjoyable. Also the male bar staff were rude and we were continually ignored whilst others around us were fawned over. We found this VERY disappointing as we booked this stay as a special treat for our 21st anniversary. This left a bad impression with us - especially as you pay top dollar here. Sidmouth is a charming place, alas we won't be regulars...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked dinner at the Victoria, as non residents, to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a truly exceptional meal. We have been visiting the hotel for over 25 years and the location, ambience and courtesy of the staff have always been great. However, yesterday it was the meal that was the star. From the nibbles with drinks ( goats cheese and beet root tartlets, cheese straws and pâté blinis have replaced the crisps and mini cheddars!) to the wonderful deserts it was a real treat. The Table D'Hote was varied and offered great modern cooking that would compare very favourably with Combe House or The Salty Monk. Perfectly cooked fish , (a rare treat in a large hotel!) and fabulous puddings. All this to live music whilst looking over the seafront at Sidmouth. Hard to beat. We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews