We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fifth stay at this hotel and its the same high standard very time..”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fifth stay at this hotel and its the same high standard very time..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really. We have stayed here five times over as many years and this is the bet hotel in the lovely seaside town.

The service is of an exceptionally high standard, the rooms are lively and spotlessly clean and the food is lovely.

Cannot fault a thing and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    151
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
179
408
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Perfect from arrival to leaving.
Very accomodating to us cyclists in terms of storing kit and flexibility on leaving I suspect not many guests here arrive on bicycle but they were actually far more accomodating than other places we stayed on this cycle tour.
Friendly reception.
Superb room with beautiful sea view.
Dinner and breakfast excellent. We enjoyed the piano playing during dinner - guess that tune quiz for us.
Wi fi that works and is free.
Swimming pool & sauna excellent.
Hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and of a high standard.
It is not cheap but in our view excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed one night here and was extremely impressed by the attention to detail and helpful staff who were always polite and ready to do what they could to make your stay comfortable. In many hotels they seem to have forgotten how important well trained staff can be to the smooth running of a successful hotel, but not at the Victoria Hotel. Maybe because this is a family run business and they have years of experience.
The food was excellent with ample choice. The restaurant service was quick and efficient and the pianist playing music was very nostalgic. Some might say it was old fashioned, but old fashioned values are good when brought up to date. Free WiFi throughout the hotel shows they are not behind the times, many hotels charge a lot for this. I would definitely recommend this hotel even if the price tag is rather steep you get value for money.

Room Tip: I had a single room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We first visited here 50 years ago, we lived fairly locally and this was always the place of choice to come to celebrate, my husband's 21st, our engagement and many other times. Thank heavens they haven't gone down the route of out with the old and in with the new, apart from modern technology that can sit aside the old charm of the place. The courtesy is still there, I think the commissionaire, in his wonderful uniform, was probably a young lad the last time we visited ! We had lunch in the Jubilee restaurant, looking over a rather gloomy, drizzly and misty landscape, but the food was delicious, it was so nice to remember old times, and the fun we had at the dinner dances, which I see are still held... may have to return just for one of those ! Thank you for being just the same, we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A really lovely hotel with friendly staff in a wonderful location . The room we had was spotlessly clean with a great view of the sea front. We didn't ave dinner there but the breakfast was delicious and very nicely presented . I really recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Booked for lunch on a Monday no one else in restaurant wished they had suggested for us to eat in lounge area seemed to be more atmosphere. Except there was a man wall papering could this not have been done through the night maybe ? A little disappointing and had driven 3 hours to get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGlashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on the occasion of your visit, we failed to come up to your expectations with regards to the work being carried out in the lounge. This work is usually done out of hours, unfortunately on this occasion it was an emergency and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Thank you again for your reply and I hope that one day you may choose to try The Victoria Hotel again for a more enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited the Victoria Hotel last week for a celebratory family lunch in the bar - great service and lovely food, particularly the gorgeous Omelette Arnold Bennett! This is such a lovely place for lunch with its fabulous views and great attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iloveweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing