We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay - excellent service and food!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Sussex
Level Contributor
229 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay - excellent service and food!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We (two couples) visited for four nights, (dinner,bed and breakfast) in Deluxe rooms at the end of September.

Two aspects of our stay stood out;-

- it was delightful to stay in a hotel with such excellent service.We have rarely stayed anywhere with so many friendly, courteous, attentive and efficient staff.

- the food was superb.The four of us have been friends for c30 years and have stayed in many hotels together - I cannot recall the last time we all stayed on the table d'hôte menus every night without even occasionally departing to the al a carte. An excellent range of very good quality, well presented food.

The overall cost was a little more than we usually spend however we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return.

(Just an observation - I suspect 'smart casual' would help to attract some more younger customers who perhaps don't want to have to wear jacket and tie for dinner?)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    156
    46
    10
    3
See reviews for
186
426
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have stayed in many good hotels but the Victoria Hotel in Sidmouth is extra special. The staff are of exceptional standard, the service was excellent and they all seemed to work so well together. We had a lovely room on the third floor with sea view, it was comfortable and spotless.
The food was of a very high standard. It was really nice to see large family groups of all ages who had been coming to the hotel for many years and now bringing the next generation.
It was our first visit, we will return and we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs Webster W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Revisited the Victoria after a nine year gap and was not disappointed. The rooms were very comfortable and extremely clean. The decor and cleanliness throughout the hotel were superb - just as we remembered. The food in the restaurant was delicious. However what makes this hotel so outstanding is the staff. They are efficient, courteous and approachable so that our two night stay just seemed to glide along on well oiled wheels and at no time are you made to feel that you are a nuisance. We even stayed for Sunday lunch and reluctantly finally left for home in the afternoon.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view which are well worth paying a little more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshTreeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really. We have stayed here five times over as many years and this is the bet hotel in the lovely seaside town.

The service is of an exceptionally high standard, the rooms are lively and spotlessly clean and the food is lovely.

Cannot fault a thing and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Perfect from arrival to leaving.
Very accomodating to us cyclists in terms of storing kit and flexibility on leaving I suspect not many guests here arrive on bicycle but they were actually far more accomodating than other places we stayed on this cycle tour.
Friendly reception.
Superb room with beautiful sea view.
Dinner and breakfast excellent. We enjoyed the piano playing during dinner - guess that tune quiz for us.
Wi fi that works and is free.
Swimming pool & sauna excellent.
Hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and of a high standard.
It is not cheap but in our view excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed one night here and was extremely impressed by the attention to detail and helpful staff who were always polite and ready to do what they could to make your stay comfortable. In many hotels they seem to have forgotten how important well trained staff can be to the smooth running of a successful hotel, but not at the Victoria Hotel. Maybe because this is a family run business and they have years of experience.
The food was excellent with ample choice. The restaurant service was quick and efficient and the pianist playing music was very nostalgic. Some might say it was old fashioned, but old fashioned values are good when brought up to date. Free WiFi throughout the hotel shows they are not behind the times, many hotels charge a lot for this. I would definitely recommend this hotel even if the price tag is rather steep you get value for money.

Room Tip: I had a single room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We first visited here 50 years ago, we lived fairly locally and this was always the place of choice to come to celebrate, my husband's 21st, our engagement and many other times. Thank heavens they haven't gone down the route of out with the old and in with the new, apart from modern technology that can sit aside the old charm of the place. The courtesy is still there, I think the commissionaire, in his wonderful uniform, was probably a young lad the last time we visited ! We had lunch in the Jubilee restaurant, looking over a rather gloomy, drizzly and misty landscape, but the food was delicious, it was so nice to remember old times, and the fun we had at the dinner dances, which I see are still held... may have to return just for one of those ! Thank you for being just the same, we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing