We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way. A traditional Grand hotel. We spent a lovely relaxing weekend at the Victoria. A real tonic after a busy month. All the staff we met were professional, helpful, friendly and made our stay a real pleasure. I really did not want to leave. This hotel is far better than the four star rating suggests. Despite the weather I thought I was back at Reids Palace in Madeira or onboard Queen Elizabeth 2.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    156
    46
    10
    3
See reviews for
186
426
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Really lovely hotel - very comfortable and stylish. The food was absolutely fantastic. There was plenty of choice for each of the 4 courses and it was very good value. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. The rooms must be well insulated as we hardly ever heard other guests and we knew they were there! The views from the front of the hotel were dramatic as we stayed during a gale and the sea was spectacular.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us, and for all your positive comments, they are very much appreciated.

It was most pleasing to read that you found the hotel’s ambience, accommodation and Jubilee Restaurant dining experience all to your liking.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only spent one night at the Victoria but from that experience one could tell that reviews I had read were pretty much spot on. The Staff are extremely helpful, the room was immaculate and comfortable.

We had a light afternoon tea in the sun lounge which was presented beautifully and was not only just the right amount but was very tasty, as we ordered we were asked if we were dinning in the hotel that evening because if that were the case " Sir and Madame" might like to just "share" an afternoon tea as they are quite "substantial" thank goodness we heeded that advice.

We retired to our room to relax after our arduous journey and recuperate before dinner. The room was warm and comfortable and everything worked well even the television, the sheets on the bed were crisp and to be of good quality as were the towels etc.

The dinning experience was extremely good, the food was cooked to perfection, the wine list was not pages long and contained wines relative to the food being presented, it was placed on the list by country and the descriptions were very helpful as I am not much of a "wine buff". The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful,the room had a gentle buzz of conversation and in the background the resident pianist played a large variety numbers all very pleasant and easy to listen to.In the lounge coffee was served along with a "nightcap" and we spent an hour or so relaxing and chatting.Breakfast was just the right amount and again cooked to perfection, the staff were very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

We had such a wonderful time and were made to feel so special by people who care and seem to be more interested in the guests well being than making money and that, dear reader ,is perhaps what makes the Victoria such a wonderful place to stay and I for one do not want it to be any different or to change in any way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review for your stay at The Victoria Hotel. It was most gratifying to read that although you only stayed with us for the one night, you were able to experience and appreciate what we have aimed to achieve and that we made your visit an especially enjoyable one.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are pleased to read that you were impressed with the staff and their service, the standard of your room and your complete wining and dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant. It was very rewarding to read all your positive comments and they have been passed onto all our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first visit to the Victoria was for their New Year's package. Wanting to get away from the normal New Year and treat my in-laws to a break, I was lucky enough to get some rooms for the New Year package at the last minute (must have been cancellations as I know people book this from year to year to be assured of their rooms). The weather couldn't have been worse, but nevertheless, we had the best time here. I was worried that my older teenagers would find this a stuffy and boring break for their age group, but they absolutely loved it, and by the time we'd had the champagne reception and sat down to dinner they were already asking if we could do it every year! Also scored mega-brownie points with the in-laws. Service was exceptional, staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely and the food was delicious. The entertainment on New Year's Eve and again on New Year's Day was excellent too. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzydrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us during New Years. It was most pleasing to read that your whole family had a wonderful time and that your children are already looking forward to next New Years!!

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your accommodation (as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme, seventeen rooms now have a stunning contemporary feature wallpaper), the service you received from our staff and that you enjoyed the entertainment that we provided. They are very much appreciated.

It is most reassuring to read that we made your first visit to us an especially enjoyable one, and we thank you again for taking the time to write your review. We all look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your family, back to the Victoria again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Thank you again to The Victoria and all the staff both front of house and behind the scenes for making the festive season so enjoyable. From beginning to end everything was first class particularly the trip to the pantomime and the wonderful Boxing Day buffet better than ever.

Room Tip: Do go for a sea view even with the recent storms the views can be quite spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68GARDENER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backwell
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Along with a number of friends we spent a weekend at the Victoria in late November .A wonderful experience great food a superb bedroom and just as important a relaxed and friendly welcome which is so important .
I also stayed earlier in the year at a sister hotel The Carlyon Bay another of the excellent Brendt Group of Hotels

Room Tip: 309 was our room Very spacious with fantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackwellMichaelhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saunton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

The ambience, service and rooms are all well above average with the staff always eager to help. A real old fashioned service which is often missing these days. On our stay we were in a room at the rear of the hotel; well furnished and decorated but watch out for deliveries from 6am. We took super in the bar - fish platter - plenty but if not for home made pickle it would have been tasteless.
Not put off we returned recently for a dinner but such a disappointment and expensive. Chicken liver parfait was tasteless while the sole was so over salted that you couldn't taste the fish. I don't think we will try again as at nearly £90 for two courses and drinks for two it is an expensive night out.A great pity as the staff do try hard

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing