We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We recently stayed in the Victoria and really enjoyed it. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was excellent. We will certainly go again. It was really good to come across a lovely place by chance. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrStepDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    157
    47
    10
    3
See reviews for
187
427
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have been going to the Victoria on and off since I was 14. I am now 42 and I go with my wife and 3 children.

Everyone should try the Victoria once; anyone who does will find that they then "measure up" every other hotel they then stay in and find themselves saying "it's better at the Victoria".

The hotel staff just can't do enough for you, the food is *amazing* (see below), there's a pool and spa area and the hotel is perfectly situated for the coast, Sidmouth town and the famous Fields Department Store.

If you factor in that a comparable dinner from a London restaurant would set you back at least £50, the breakfast £15 and a day pass to the average spa is £10, then if you stay at the Victoria you effectively get the room and all other hotel facilities thrown in for nothing.

Give it a go and bring extra stretchy trousers for the fabulous food!

Room Tip: Phone the hotel direct and see if they are running any offers e.g. Winter specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewWand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reigate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have been fortunate enough to go back to the Victoria Hotel this year. It really is a wonderful place to go. The atmosphere is lovely. This is mainly because the staff are extremely personable and are very good at their job. It is obvious that investments in this hotel are made regularly to keep it fresh and up to date. The food was delicious and the effort that went into catering for small children was really impressive. Three generations of my family went on the mini break and we had just a lovely time. Thank you

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way. A traditional Grand hotel. We spent a lovely relaxing weekend at the Victoria. A real tonic after a busy month. All the staff we met were professional, helpful, friendly and made our stay a real pleasure. I really did not want to leave. This hotel is far better than the four star rating suggests. Despite the weather I thought I was back at Reids Palace in Madeira or onboard Queen Elizabeth 2.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Really lovely hotel - very comfortable and stylish. The food was absolutely fantastic. There was plenty of choice for each of the 4 courses and it was very good value. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. The rooms must be well insulated as we hardly ever heard other guests and we knew they were there! The views from the front of the hotel were dramatic as we stayed during a gale and the sea was spectacular.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review of The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us, and for all your positive comments, they are very much appreciated.

It was most pleasing to read that you found the hotel’s ambience, accommodation and Jubilee Restaurant dining experience all to your liking.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only spent one night at the Victoria but from that experience one could tell that reviews I had read were pretty much spot on. The Staff are extremely helpful, the room was immaculate and comfortable.

We had a light afternoon tea in the sun lounge which was presented beautifully and was not only just the right amount but was very tasty, as we ordered we were asked if we were dinning in the hotel that evening because if that were the case " Sir and Madame" might like to just "share" an afternoon tea as they are quite "substantial" thank goodness we heeded that advice.

We retired to our room to relax after our arduous journey and recuperate before dinner. The room was warm and comfortable and everything worked well even the television, the sheets on the bed were crisp and to be of good quality as were the towels etc.

The dinning experience was extremely good, the food was cooked to perfection, the wine list was not pages long and contained wines relative to the food being presented, it was placed on the list by country and the descriptions were very helpful as I am not much of a "wine buff". The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful,the room had a gentle buzz of conversation and in the background the resident pianist played a large variety numbers all very pleasant and easy to listen to.In the lounge coffee was served along with a "nightcap" and we spent an hour or so relaxing and chatting.Breakfast was just the right amount and again cooked to perfection, the staff were very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed.

We had such a wonderful time and were made to feel so special by people who care and seem to be more interested in the guests well being than making money and that, dear reader ,is perhaps what makes the Victoria such a wonderful place to stay and I for one do not want it to be any different or to change in any way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review for your stay at The Victoria Hotel. It was most gratifying to read that although you only stayed with us for the one night, you were able to experience and appreciate what we have aimed to achieve and that we made your visit an especially enjoyable one.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are pleased to read that you were impressed with the staff and their service, the standard of your room and your complete wining and dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant. It was very rewarding to read all your positive comments and they have been passed onto all our staff.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first visit to the Victoria was for their New Year's package. Wanting to get away from the normal New Year and treat my in-laws to a break, I was lucky enough to get some rooms for the New Year package at the last minute (must have been cancellations as I know people book this from year to year to be assured of their rooms). The weather couldn't have been worse, but nevertheless, we had the best time here. I was worried that my older teenagers would find this a stuffy and boring break for their age group, but they absolutely loved it, and by the time we'd had the champagne reception and sat down to dinner they were already asking if we could do it every year! Also scored mega-brownie points with the in-laws. Service was exceptional, staff were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely and the food was delicious. The entertainment on New Year's Eve and again on New Year's Day was excellent too. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzydrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay with us during New Years. It was most pleasing to read that your whole family had a wonderful time and that your children are already looking forward to next New Years!!

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your accommodation (as part of our ongoing refurbishment programme, seventeen rooms now have a stunning contemporary feature wallpaper), the service you received from our staff and that you enjoyed the entertainment that we provided. They are very much appreciated.

It is most reassuring to read that we made your first visit to us an especially enjoyable one, and we thank you again for taking the time to write your review. We all look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your family, back to the Victoria again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing