We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Sidmouth is a town like no other and The Victoria Hotel fits in perfectly-the staff cannot do enough, from the moment the porter helps you up to your room with your luggage. Yes, it is 'old school' but for a weekend escape that's just what you want- an excuse to relax and dress up for the evening meal accompanied by a pianist or on Saturday the 4 piece band. The food is very good and great value if you can get a DB&B deal. The seafront location can't be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witchfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    172
    52
    10
    3
See reviews for
209
471
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our third visit to this amazing hotel! From the minute you pass through the revolving door you feel totally relaxed as you are spoilt by the friendly helpful staff who run everything like clockwork. We were always allocated very nice rooms but on this occasion were lucky enough to be upgraded which was greatly appreciated! The food as always was of the highest quality, the public rooms comfortable and we'll appointed with glorious views and the swimming pool and spa very enjoyable. But what makes The Victoria special are those extra little touches that make every visit a delight!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

The Victoria hotel is a wonderful genteel English seaside hotel. They are excellent at what they do.
- The target demographic for this hotel is slightly older people, hence the jacket and tie rule for gentlemen in the restaurant in the evening. This makes dining slightly more formal but that's what they're aiming for.
- The service is great and they have very attentive staff.
- It's not the cheapest hotel in Sidmouth but I think it is good value for money.
- I always find it a little on the hot side, possibly because of the age of the guests, and the first thing I do is turn off the radiators and open the windows in the room.
- I am younger than their average guest (I'm in my mid 40s) but my wife and I have been there many times and will definitely go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a week-end at the Victoria, for which we have nothing but praise. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard particularly the bedrooms and en suite bathrooms. The beds are generously sized and extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are beautifully fitted out, with excellent lighting and plenty of quality toiletries and fluffy white towels.

My wife has dietary problems, which had been previously noted and every effort was made to ensure she was well catered for. Nothing was too much trouble and her dietary needs were fully met. In this respect we would make special mention of Beth, who was both very efficient and friendly.

This is an excellent hotel where we have stayed many times and it has just got better: the addition of a fridge/minibar in each room would make it even better.

L Shields

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

On arrival we were shown into the reception terrace room and served a drink, then shown to our table where a special orchid was presented. The staff although very busy were extremely polite serving a very enjoyable and delicious meal, we returned to the terrace room where the views along Sidmouth front are quite special for Coffee and chocolates. This was a pleasant afternoon, the Hotel was extremely busy and all staff worked exceptionally hard, thank you to all Mrs L Taunton

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our third stay in this hotel. It never ceases to amaze me how they get everything right. From the moment you check in and are taken to your room, and helped by a friendly porter who carries your luggage, till the time you check out, it is brilliant. The room was lovely with a view across Sidmouth. Everything was spotless and had a cared for look. The food was lovely and breakfast and dinner were a treat to look forward to. We just wanted a nice restful break and that is what we got. The lounge with an extensive view of the sea is well used be the all the guests which adds to the friendly atmosphere. Sidmouth it a delightful town to stroll round. We have already booked to go again.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We wanted to go away for a few days at short notice and decided to give Sidmouth a shot. I have not been to Sidmouth for at least 15 years but remember the place fondly from taking my aged uncle and aunt for tea at either the Victoria or Riviera hotels. We decided on a late availability booking at the Victoria and ended up with a good deal on the Victoria Suite on a DBB basis.

The hotel is very well appointed and comfortable with spacious and grand, well-furnished public rooms, bar and dining room. Our suite was on the ground floor and exceptionally spacious - in fact it had an additional bedroom which we did not need - with a large bedroom, large sitting room and kitchenette, and bathroom (with two basins, bath and separate large shower). The promised sea view was across the side lawn and main entrance area which was not quite what I had envisaged but a good sea view nonetheless. I suspect the view from rooms on higher floors would be splendid.

Breakfast and dinner were great successes, both served in the Jubilee Restaurant. The breakfast buffet of cereals, fruit, yogurts, cold meats and pastries etc was augmented by a wide choice of cooked items, from the 'full cholesterol' to kippers and poached haddock. Dinner was a five-course table d'hôte affair with a decent choice for each course. Alternative courses could be ordered from the a la carte menu at a supplement. I suppose I had been expecting the usual seaside hotel-type of food and service, and was therefore very impressed when in fact the food was a more sophisticated fine dining style. All the food we ate was well prepared and delicious, from meltingly tender beef carpaccio to perfectly cooked sea bass, rich and succulent haunch of venison to well-choses local cheeses. The wine list was limited, but with a good spread of types at reasonable cost. All meals were served by the excellent staff, relaxed, efficient and welcoming. In fact, all the hotel staff, from receptionists to the bar team were notable for their friendly welcome and attentive service.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable short stay and look forward to not waiting another 15 years to return.

Room Tip: The Victoria Suite is very spacious and comfortable with huge sitting room, two bedrooms, bathroom a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidmouth
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
17.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing