We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Very High Standards”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I visit the Victoria several times a year on average. This time, we invited our son and his girlfriend.
The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. The service was up to the usual very high standards which we have come to expect at this hotel, with efficiency and politeness being exceptional. We always admire the way that the housekeeping staff manage to clean and replenish the rooms and yet remain scarcely visible.
Our guests were greatly taken with the Victoria and made use of the spa facilities. All in all, it was a most enjoyable visit. The only slight hiccup was the delivery of the incorrect newspaper one morning, but the Duty Manager made a trip into town and our usual paper was delivered to us before we went down to breakfast.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review for the Victoria Hotel after yourself and your family’s stay with us last month.

We are delighted that your visit was a most enjoyable one and it was wonderful to read that The Victoria has maintained its very high standards from which you have come to expect of us, and we are so happy that your son and his girlfriend were able to avail themselves of all our facilities, especially our Spa area.

Your praise for our hardworking staff members across all the departments was very welcoming to read and have been passed onto them. These comments were most appreciated, particularly from our Housekeeping team.

It was also our pleasure to rectify the error we made when delivering the incorrect newspaper to yourselves. Please accept our apologies for this.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your most positive review, and we all look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your wife back to the Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

There are very few Hotels these days that have (standards) it can be all too sloppy,casual and mediocre. The Victoria however shines,yes Gentleman have to dress for dinner but this just adds to the overall ambience of the Hotel. All public rooms are elegant with excellent sea views. The four course evening menu was excellent and service from the well trained staff was nigh on perfect. It is the first time we have stayed at the Victoria and with the Brend Group but it will certainly not be the last.

Gavin & Brenda
Long Eaton

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Summerlovin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your glowing review for the Victoria Hotel after your visit with us earlier this month.

We can’t express how gratifying it was to read how a customer appreciates exactly what we are trying to achieve at The Victoria, and the style in which we aim to do it.

Of all your welcoming comments, those praising our hard working staff members were a pleasure to read, and have been passed on for all to see.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review, and we hope it will be the first visit of many to The Victoria Hotel and to the Brend Group. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A grand old lady of a hotel. They know their market which is the over 60s and coach parties and everything is geared to that. The indoor pool is small, to the point of being ornamental but the breakfast was good and the hotel clean. The young staff were fine.

A nice enough hotel but be aware its geared to coach parties. There is a slightly stuffy feel to dinner (gents have to wear a jacket and tie) but if you like that sort of thing, you will be right at home in the Victoria.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you found the Hotel to be clean and that you enjoyed your breakfast. These comments have been passed onto our staff members for them to read.

Whilst we do welcome groups to the Hotel, these are restricted to a handful a year, and with a higher proportion of our guests being of a certain age, we do our best to cater for all age groups. With regards to the dress code policy, we do ask gentlemen to wear jackets and ties as we feel that this touch of formality complements the dining experience, whilst also offering alternative dining options in the Lounges where the dress code is more relaxed.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Not quite as good a selection of evening meal food as in the past. Some evidence of cost cutting with the paper thin meat portions.
Very friendly bad helpful staff with some staying for three or more years and given decent time off per week. It rather speaks well of the hotel management treating the staff properly.

Room Tip: Offer price rooms limited size, even sea view rooms. No room safes or shaving mirrors. Staff though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding our loyal and hard working staff members were wonderful to read, and have been passed on to all.

We were however, disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience as much as in previous visits. I can assure you that your comments will be looked into, as we always endeavour to provide the best food and service for all our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for the Victoria Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I visit with my father who has been visiting for 16 years. I have visited about 4 times now.
You cannot fault anything, food is excellent, staff kind and friendly but very professional.
Sidmouth is lovely, promenade walks and sea views.
It's a very relaxing place to be .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent visit.

We were so pleased to read that the service you received from our staff members was very high and professional and that your dining experience was as excellent as ever. Rest assured, all your comments have been passed onto the staff.

We were also delighted that you find Sidmouth itself to be a most relaxing place to be with the outstanding views of Lyme Bay, along with the picturesque Regency town and the promenade being just a short stroll away from the Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to welcome a returning guest back to the Victoria Hotel, and we thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were not actually staying but joine a family get together over two days
We eat in both the lounge, bar and jubilee restaurant
The atmosphere,decor,and service have to amongst the very best
The staff are very attentive and there is a high ratio of staff to customer especially at this time of year
Whenever we visit it is good to see that most of the staff are still in service
And they always greet you like special guests
The food in all areas have improved since last visit
The victoria is in class of its own and is surely placed right at the top in the country

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent visit with us.

We were delighted to read that you found all aspects of the hotel, including the atmosphere and décor to be of a high standard and that you consider us to be amongst the very best in the country!

Your comments with regards to our loyal and hardworking staff members were a pleasure to read, and rest assured they have all been passed on. The staff always feel so rewarded when they see these.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your positive review for the Victoria Hotel, and myself and all the staff look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We are the North Devon Kidney Dialysis Group and spent our spring break here at The Victoria. Our stay was excellent with great food, service and very comfortable rooms. We can thoroughly recommend a visit here which you will never forget and where you will want to come time and time again. Thank you for a wonderful visit.
Mike Hammond ( Hon Sec )

Room Tip: All our rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Mr Hammond

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for The Victoria Hotel following the North Devon Kidney Dialysis Group’s recent stay.

We were most pleased to read that your rooms were more than comfortable and the service you received from our hard working staff was excellent. Rest assured, your comments have been passed onto all, including our team of chef’s who were delighted to read that your group thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience.

It was also delightful to read that you would recommend us to other travellers. Your comments are most appreciated.

Thank you again for such a positive review and we look forward to welcoming yourselves back to The Victoria Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £209 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing