We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as always”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I come with my husband two or three times a year This time we stayed for 4 nights which is our usual length of stay. Every thing was perfect. We have stayed in numerous rooms over the years. This time it was The Garden room. This is a really spacious room with a huge bathroom and is situated just across from the main entrance. The housekeeping at the hotel is always superb. All the staff are very friendly and we know them all on a first name basis. It is very nice to see the same faces on each visit. The staff always seem very happy in their environment and nothing is to much trouble.
We have never been disappointed with an evening meal here. The breakfasts are among the best you would have anywhere. Some might see it as old fashioned about having a dress code but for my husband and I that is one of the features we enjoy.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room on any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your most positive review after your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We always find it such a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests. We were delighted to read that your stay in The Garden Room was perfect and that you found it to be very spacious and well maintained by our hardworking housekeeping team.

We were also pleased that your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant has not diminished over the years you have been staying, but is just as good as ever and that you particularly enjoy your breakfasts each morning. As for the dress code, we feel that this touch of formality complements the dining experience and are very happy that this is something you enjoy.

All your glowing comments about our loyal staff have been passed onto them and they are greatly appreciated by all.

Thank you again for your very positive review, and all the staff look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your husband back to The Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

730 - 736 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I have been visiting twice a year for some time now, and are always made very welcome by the mainly unchanging staff.
From the doorman, to reception, and all other members of staff, you are made to feel at home, and all requests are dealt with quickly and politely. Meals are of a very high quality, with daily changing menus. Old standards are thankfully maintained.
Updating is carried out of course, but the service and the quiet elegance remain unchanged.
Long may it continue.
K & A Jones

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Jones

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It is always such a pleasure to welcome you both back, and it is never a problem to help with any requests you may have during your stay. We are delighted that you still value the service we provide to yourselves, whilst at the same time endeavouring to update and refurbish the Hotel to maintain our high standards.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoy the service you receive in the Jubilee Restaurant each time you visit and that you find the menus to be nice and varied for you.

Your very kind comments about our hard working and loyal staff have been passed along. They always find them very rewarding to read and are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your most wonderful review, and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to The Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Overall this is a very good hotel, our room on the third floor was nicely furnished, seemed to have been recently refurbished, not large but well equipped with lots of storage. It was described as partial sea view but we had a lovely view with plenty of sea to see!!
The quality of the meals was very good and the plates were very hot, however, the actual food on them on the evening meal could have been a little hotter, but none the less was very tasty.
One evening we ordered our meal from the bar menu, I ordered the mussels which clearly stated with 'frites', when it arrived there was only the mussels, I queried where the chips were and was told the mussels didn't come with chips. I was mistifies what does 'frites' mean then. The waitress, who was always courteous and polite, as all the staff were, went away and returned with chips which she told me the Manager was not going to charge for !! This came as a bit if a surprise, I pointed out, again, that they are on the menu, she checked and seemed puzzled herself she disappeared and nothing else was said about the incident. My point is that I would have been quite happy to pay for the chips if they hadn't been on the menu, I felt like the "poor relation" being told I could have them for free in front of other people In the room was very embarrassing. However having, "made a meal" of this issue, the mussels were excellent and apart from the seagulls "pooping" on our new car, the stay was very comfortable and enjoyable.
The hotel even tried to do something about the seagulls, bless them, when we left they had birds of prey on the lawn doing their scary bit, which was quite entertaining.
Overall a very nice weekend.

Room Tip: Our preference at home is for a super king size bed. Our bed at the hotel was very comfortable but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PierreJ79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us, and that you found the hotel to be comfortable and charming, with your accommodation nicely furnished and wonderful views of Sidmouth and Lyme Bay.

With regards to your dining experiences with us, we are glad that overall you enjoyed the food. With reference to the confusion surrounding the ‘frites’ with the mussels, please accept our apologies for any unintentional embarrassment this may have caused you.

Your kind comment with regards to your waitress and to all staff members you encountered throughout your stay has been passed on. It was greatly appreciated.

Again, thank you for your review for the Victoria Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Taking advantage of the excellent weather forecast, my wife and I travelled down from the Cotswold to spend a couple of days in Sidmouth this week. We stayed for one night at the Victoria Hotel and found it to be a very comfortable if somewhat old fashioned hotel; with their style and their rules, it reminded me very much of staying in a good hotel in the 70's.

We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor with all the up-to-date facilities, a very comfortable bed
and with a fantastic view over the Sidmouth's bay.

There was only a couple of things that should have been better: 1) On arrival, the young lady at the Reception, confirmed the cost of the room in a very loud tone of voice. She should have been a little more discreet! Maybe there is a lack of training!? 2) I had requested, (and it was confirmed to me by mail), a double bed; on arrival we found that two single beds had been pushed together. To me, two single beds don't make a double! Maybe the Reservation and Housekeeping departments should be a little more careful with the details!

Overall, I should say that our short stay was relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italian186422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were so pleased to read that you found your accommodation to be comfortable, whilst enjoying some of the wonderful views that Sidmouth has to offer.

With regards to your other comments, they will be looked into, but we were delighted that you had a relaxing time with us overall.

Thank you again, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Victoria Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel hasn't lost any of its old fashioned standards and charm that has enticed us back year after year. We have stayed there on numerous occasions and whilst moving with the times it hasn't lost those elements that we love - high quality and friendly service in every area of the hotel ,old fashioned yet elegant surroundings and such wonderful menus and excellent food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Looking forward to our next visit already. Five stars all around!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your most wonderful ‘5 star’ review after your stay with us at The Victoria Hotel earlier this month.

We were delighted to read that as returning guests to our establishment, you have seen that whilst we have been moving forward with the times, we have not lost any of our elegance or charm that first welcomed you to the Victoria Hotel all those years ago, from our wonderful surroundings to your excellent dining experiences.

Your comments about our hardworking staff’s high quality and friendly service throughout the hotel were a pleasure to read, and have been passed onto all the departments for them to see. These comments were most appreciated by all.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review for us, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love Sidmouth and I love the Victoria Hotel. Not cheap, but here you gets what you pay for. Old fashioned elegance and style coupled with friendly and unobtrusive service of the highest quality and efficiency. If I have a complaint, and it is a tiny one, the breakfast toast is boring and cold and evening vegetable side dishes uninspiring. So food, overall excellent, only gets four stars. Virtually all else in this wonderful hotel gets an emphatic five. Third visit and will go again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review for The Victoria after your stay with us earlier this month.

It was such a pleasure to read that as a returning guest, you find the style and elegance of the hotel to be worthy of an ‘emphatic five stars’ and that the staff were friendly and provided an efficient and unobtrusive service for you throughout your visit. The staff always find it very rewarding to read these.

With regards to your comments about your toast at breakfast times and the vegetable side dishes in the evening, I can assure you they will be looked into, but we are delighted that overall your dining experience was excellent.

Thank you again for your review, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I visit the Victoria several times a year on average. This time, we invited our son and his girlfriend.
The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. The service was up to the usual very high standards which we have come to expect at this hotel, with efficiency and politeness being exceptional. We always admire the way that the housekeeping staff manage to clean and replenish the rooms and yet remain scarcely visible.
Our guests were greatly taken with the Victoria and made use of the spa facilities. All in all, it was a most enjoyable visit. The only slight hiccup was the delivery of the incorrect newspaper one morning, but the Duty Manager made a trip into town and our usual paper was delivered to us before we went down to breakfast.

Room Tip: Always go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review for the Victoria Hotel after yourself and your family’s stay with us last month.

We are delighted that your visit was a most enjoyable one and it was wonderful to read that The Victoria has maintained its very high standards from which you have come to expect of us, and we are so happy that your son and his girlfriend were able to avail themselves of all our facilities, especially our Spa area.

Your praise for our hardworking staff members across all the departments was very welcoming to read and have been passed onto them. These comments were most appreciated, particularly from our Housekeeping team.

It was also our pleasure to rectify the error we made when delivering the incorrect newspaper to yourselves. Please accept our apologies for this.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your most positive review, and we all look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your wife back to the Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £206 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing