We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanthemanpearson”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family have been going to this hotel since 1981. It was good then and it just gets better. A very comfortable relaxing and spotless place to stay. All the staff ( everybody ) are so kind and helpful. The Jubilee Restaurant is tastefully furnished with good food to complement it. A nice pleasant place to spend a Holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms sea facing are very nice. Garden rooms also very nice but no sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to welcome back such longstanding guests, and to hear that we are delivering as good, if not better service now, as when you first visited us back in 1981.

It was wonderful reading that you find the Victoria to have a clean, relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, with a good dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant, and that the service from all our staff is well received. All your kind comments have been passed on.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria Hotel in the coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at short notice as a family in the Victoria Suite at the Victoria Hotel. Amazing space, decor and views of the bay. Large bathroom, two bedrooms and Lounge. We used both pools.

Whilst our waitress was very freendly The only comment I would make is a few more smiles from some of the more dour staff would be 'back to the old days'

Other than that we had the most fabulous time and would recommend the hotel to all

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your impromptu visit with us earlier this month.

We were delighted to read that you found the Victoria Suite to be the ideal place to stay with its wonderful views of Lyme Bay, and that you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful leisure facilities that we have to offer.

Your kind remark has been passed on to your waitress, and we endeavour to do all we can to get back ‘to the old days’.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to The Victoria Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the only choice in the area if you are looking for an exclusive hotel. I chose to stay there because of the TV series Jeeves and Wooster. I wanted to experience the old and nostalgic atmosphere. It is worth trying for this experience once, and no more than that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed here at least once a year for the last sixteen years, if it wasn't good we wouldn't be returning. We also use other hotels in the group but the Victoria is our favourite. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave its sheer relaxation. The rooms have all been refurbished in the last couple of years and are very well appointed. The staff are all friendly and we really enjoy the service in the restaurant. Off season we are unable to use the outdoor pool area which is a real suntrap. There is an indoor pool but its very small. We tend to use the hotel as a base and visit other parts of the area, as a consequence we have never used the lounges. After dinner coffee is served in the lounge but we usually walk into Sidmouth. My only suggestion is that the heating is turned down as the fist thing we usually do is open the room windows and turn off the radiator.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. sea view and balcony costs more. We don't spend our day in the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank groundedinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your ‘5 star’ review for The Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed coming to The Victoria over the last sixteen years and consider us to be your favourite within the Brend Hotels Group!

It was so nice to read that you find the hotel’s location perfect for visiting the surrounding area and enjoy relaxing around the outside pool area on those lovely sunny days.

The staff always enjoy welcoming back returning guests and all your kind comments have been passed on. They were greatly appreciated, particularly by our Restaurant Team.

Thank you also for your kind suggestion regarding the heating in the Hotel, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Victoria in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As a family we have used this hotel for many years. We are now the second generation of the family to do so and our annual visit is something we look forward to. It is great to enjoy a break where standards and quality are so high. And without doubt the staff are as good as you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: They are all good but the higher you are - the more spectacular the views become
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful ‘5 star’ review for The Victoria Hotel after your recent annual stay with us.

It is always such a pleasure to welcome families back each year, to see the children grow up and then they in turn, introduce us to the next generation. This is something that has always been close to the Brend family, who themselves have several generations working for the Brend Group.

We were delighted to read that the quality and standard of service you expect from us has remained very high, and all your comments have been passed on to our hardworking staff across the departments for them to see. They were greatly appreciated by all.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for the Victoria Hotel, and we all look forward to welcoming your family back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I come with my husband two or three times a year This time we stayed for 4 nights which is our usual length of stay. Every thing was perfect. We have stayed in numerous rooms over the years. This time it was The Garden room. This is a really spacious room with a huge bathroom and is situated just across from the main entrance. The housekeeping at the hotel is always superb. All the staff are very friendly and we know them all on a first name basis. It is very nice to see the same faces on each visit. The staff always seem very happy in their environment and nothing is to much trouble.
We have never been disappointed with an evening meal here. The breakfasts are among the best you would have anywhere. Some might see it as old fashioned about having a dress code but for my husband and I that is one of the features we enjoy.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room on any side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you so much for your most positive review after your recent stay with us at The Victoria Hotel.

We always find it such a pleasure to welcome back our returning guests. We were delighted to read that your stay in The Garden Room was perfect and that you found it to be very spacious and well maintained by our hardworking housekeeping team.

We were also pleased that your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant has not diminished over the years you have been staying, but is just as good as ever and that you particularly enjoy your breakfasts each morning. As for the dress code, we feel that this touch of formality complements the dining experience and are very happy that this is something you enjoy.

All your glowing comments about our loyal staff have been passed onto them and they are greatly appreciated by all.

Thank you again for your very positive review, and all the staff look forward to welcoming yourself, together with your husband back to The Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I have been visiting twice a year for some time now, and are always made very welcome by the mainly unchanging staff.
From the doorman, to reception, and all other members of staff, you are made to feel at home, and all requests are dealt with quickly and politely. Meals are of a very high quality, with daily changing menus. Old standards are thankfully maintained.
Updating is carried out of course, but the service and the quiet elegance remain unchanged.
Long may it continue.
K & A Jones

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Jones

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It is always such a pleasure to welcome you both back, and it is never a problem to help with any requests you may have during your stay. We are delighted that you still value the service we provide to yourselves, whilst at the same time endeavouring to update and refurbish the Hotel to maintain our high standards.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoy the service you receive in the Jubilee Restaurant each time you visit and that you find the menus to be nice and varied for you.

Your very kind comments about our hard working and loyal staff have been passed along. They always find them very rewarding to read and are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your most wonderful review, and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to The Victoria Hotel later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £208 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing