We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very gracious hotel for a special celebration”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A very gracious hotel for a special celebration”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The very elegant entrance and preserved Edwardian entrance hall gives this hotel the most wonderful feel. Wonderful views over Sidmouth bay from everywhere.The bedrooms are tastefully decorated and a beautiful en suite. The service is top class and so nice to dress for dinner where gentleman are requested to wear jacket and tie. Wonderful light, easy listening live music to accompany dinner which was excellent, a selection of meat and fish dishes with fresh vegetables and not over facing most interesting sweets. Waiting staff excellent and charming. We loved the live band for dancing on the Saturday evening, it was a shame more guests didn't join in, it was lovely to listen and not too loud, even if you were not dancing. We were lucky enough with the weather to enjoy the outside pool, it is heated in a sheltered spot with sun loungers and is most enjoyable. Refreshments can be served out there.
We spent 5 nights to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and it certainly made it a most enjoyable and very memorable occasion. Top Class !!

Room Tip: We chose ' Garden View with partial sea view' this was 3rd floor, and was still an excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your 30th Wedding Anniversary Celebratory stay with us.

We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy everything about your stay, including the standard of your accommodation, the ambience and atmosphere of the Hotel itself, the lovely views of Sidmouth Bay and that you were able to make use of some of our wonderful leisure facilities.

We were also pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the menu selection and the Dinner and Dance on Saturday evening, and were more than happy with our jacket and tie policy, which we feel adds that touch of formality to the whole experience.

Of all your welcoming comments, those praising our hard working staff members were a pleasure to read, and have been passed on for all to see. They were most appreciated, especially by our wonderful Kitchen and Restaurant teams.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post your review for The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    168
    50
    10
    3
See reviews for
199
456
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My Wife and I have stayed at the Victoria for several holidays over the past years and it has never changed. Food is excellent, service is first class and the accommodation is second to none. Many of the staff have been unchanged for years, which speaks volumes, and they even remembered us from previous visits. This really is a gem and I would recommend to anyone. If you are an outcast, smoker, try the poolside suites with their own patios and great view. Not like looking at the sea, but a sun trap.

Room Tip: Poolside for smokers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your most positive review for the Victoria Hotel after your stay with us earlier this month.

We are always happy to welcome back our guests, and we are delighted with the knowledge that we are still providing the same level of service, if not better, than when you first stayed a few years ago.

Our loyal and hardworking staff are always striving to maintain their first class standard, and were thrilled to read all your comments.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for The Victoria, and we all look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

For the last five years I have spent three or four days at The Victoria stepping back from a busy professional life away from all the pressures of deprivation,dysfunction and development of living and working at the heart of a community.This hotel serves a personal rule and rhythm of lifestyle well with a comfortable single room overlooking the sea and lounges with beautiful inspiring views.A lovely dinner and breakfast cuisine with lunch and afternoon tea when necessary.The situation allows space for stillness and silence with staff who welcome and bring stability with personal concern and care without being over demanding.Trips out along the coast into Devon or across to Dorset give possibilities to get away from it all to places with fond memories along the Jurassic Coast,or to Dartmouth,Salcombe, Buchfast and Exeter.Here memories are restored ,stories shared and new experiences gained.February,June or September and late November are my times of encountering such wonderful hospitality from Monday to Friday.It's worth the 250mile trip for an energetic vicar to find a place to be alone with Himself and His God to refocus and prepare for the great Christian Festivals and Seasons with his daily routine.A priority in planning each years diary...and certainly congregations and family are encouraged by the reinvigoration he receives in his church with large Sunday Intergenerational Congregations and a 24/7 Resource Centre seeing over 3000 per week in the heart of a South Eastern Resort booming in the 1960's on his return.He is rested,passionate and reenergised to serve them and His God in the three months or so that follow.Plans are in hand for visits in 2015 yet to be confirmed with the hotel when prices are at their best.

Vicar JSR.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your true needs and price you want to pay.Because of the frequency of my vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that as a returning guest over the last five years, you have found The Victoria to be the ideal place to re-energise yourself, with comfortable accommodation in your single room, a relaxed and quiet atmosphere within the Hotel itself, wonderful views and an enjoyment in your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant.

We were also pleased to read that you find The Victoria is ideally situated to be able to explore the surrounding area and to revisit those places that have fond memories.

Your praise for our loyal and hardworking staff members is most welcomed and they are always happy to aid our guests in any way they can. Your comments have been passed onto all.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review for The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have just stayed for 2 nights last weekend and everything was just perfect. We just wanted a relaxing time with good food, good service and good accommodation and The Victoria had it all. This hotel is very traditional in decor and with Jacket and tie requested for dinner this was a nice standard to maintain. The live music on Saturday night fitted in just right as well. We shall be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Wallace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found everything to be just perfect, from your accommodation through to your dining experience in the Jubilee Restaurant, and that you enjoyed the Dinner and Dance entertainment provided for you on Saturday evening.

Your kind comments regarding the standard of service you received from all our staff members have been passed on. They always find them such a pleasure to read.

Thank you again for your wonderful review for The Victoria, and we all look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As always, the management and staff are friendly and welcoming and the service is exceptional and any problems are resolved immediately. The restaurant is excellent as are all the hotel facilities . I can think of a few hotel managers who should stay at the Victoria to find out how it should be done. We have been staying at the Victoria for ten years and try to visit at least three times a year, we have already booked for our Ruby Wedding in 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your stay with us earlier this month.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back for your tenth year of visiting us, and we are so pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs to make your stay as enjoyable as ever.

It was so good to read that you find everything about the Hotel to be excellent, with particular mention to your dining experiences in the Jubilee Restaurant.

All your wonderful comments regarding our hardworking and loyal staff members have been passed on, and they were very gratefully received.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Victoria Hotel later this year and in anticipation of your Ruby Wedding Celebration in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have holidayed at this Hotel on numerous occasions both as a couple and as a family group including our grand children. The facilities have suited all ages and the staff have been always attentive to the needs of the different generations.
The position is ideal with great views of the coastline from the Sun Lounge and from many of the bedrooms. The town centre is just a short walk along the seafront while in the opposite direction the Connaught Gardens provide a pleasant vista in addition to the regular Brass Band Concerts.
We have just returned from a week's holiday and again enjoyed excellent accommodation, good food and excellent service.
I had the misfortune of suffering a fall in the town and on returning to the Hotel with a nasty injury to my arm was expertly attended to by their First Aider and sent to the A& E Department at Exeter Hosital. An illustration of the level of service delivered by the staff at this Hotel.
Altogether my wife and I would recommend this Hotel, both for the facilities and level of Service and for the many attractions of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review for the Victoria Hotel, after your recent stay with us.

We always find it such a pleasure to welcome returning guests like yourselves, and it was wonderful to read that we have also been able to welcome your family, including your grandchildren. The staff are always working hard maintaining the wonderful leisure facilities we have with an eye to being able to keep everyone entertained!

We were so pleased to read that you found everything to be excellent during your stay including your accommodation and service, and that you find our position in Sidmouth with the outstanding views of Lyme Bay to be ideal.

Of all your welcoming comments though, those praising our staff members, particularly our first aider were very pleasurable to read, and have been passed on for all to see. The staff never find anything too much trouble and are always happy to help in any way they can.

Thank you again for your most wonderful review for The Victoria. We all hope that your arm is healing well, and look forward to welcoming yourselves and your family back for future visits soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

At last, a British hotel that knows what good service actually is! We had a couple of days break at the Victoria and enjoyed every single minute. The quality of meals was as good as it gets, the bedroom and ensuite were recently refurbished to a high standard and the public rooms were excellent. However the hotels star point is the staff! Abundant and well trained. Nothing was too much trouble and without exception the staff actually looked as if they enjoyed their job. The cleaner I spoke to said she had been there 26 years and still loved her job. Well done all at the Victoria!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review for the Victoria Hotel after your stay with us earlier this month.

It was such a joy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your short break with us and found everything, including your accommodation, the public rooms, and your dining experience in our Jubilee Restaurant to be of a high standard.

We were especially pleased to be able to pass on all your kind comments to our hard working and loyal staff members with regards to the service they provided for you. They never find it too much trouble to aid our guests in any way they can. The staff across all the departments appreciated your comments very much.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us at The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidmouth
0.0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
17.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing