We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be Back”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As soon as you arrive at the Victoria, you know you are going to be well looked after. Drive into the entrance and you are met by the porter as you get out of the car and he carries in your luggage without being asked. Check in was equally easy and we were very pleased with our room. Yes, small for the money, but completely modernised, very nicely furnished and newly decorated, The weather helped by being warm, sunny and clear. In the past we have had less than perfect rooms but this time it had one of the best views in the hotel. All the staff are delightful and go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. We also thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at a great table, again with a sea view. For a hotel, rather than a gourmet (and expensive) restaurant, the food was excellent, the lamb being especially good, the ambience very good (with background quartet) and the service great.. We like the little touches, such as the welcome back flowers in our room and the wine waiter checking to see if we wanted brandies with our after-dinner coffee in the lounge (which we did). Next morning we had a needle match on the putting green, having enjoyed a very good breakfast, promptly served and well presented. This is a hotel that will not disappoint and we shall continue to go back for regular short visits, as long as they continue to look after their guests so well. It is pricey, but then so is any occasional treat!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are smaller but have the best views and are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999Sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your glowing review as returning guests of the Victoria Hotel.

We always find it such a pleasure to welcome back our guests and were delighted to read that you were very pleased with your accommodation, thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience and the music provided by our Resident Quartet, and found time to enjoy some of our wonderful facilities during your stay.

Above all, the high praise that you have given to our staff members across all departments has been passed on. They always find it very rewarding.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and we all at The Victoria look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Spur of the moment decision to see the sea. Friends had recommended the Victoria.
We were not disappointed. Old fashioned values but in a highly complimentary way.
From the minute we arrived until the time when we left we were looked after extremely well.
Staff all excellent, friendly and polite. We felt genuinely valued.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for posting your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to welcome guests that have been recommended to us and we were so pleased that your spur-of-the-moment decision resulted in an excellent stay.

Your kind comments have been passed on to our staff members across all the departments, and they were very much appreciated by all.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for The Victoria, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I arranged the celebrations for our 50th Wedding Anniversary Lunch at the Victoria. The food was excellent and the service was unbeatable -everything went perfectly. Having stayed there previously I continue to be impressed

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your Celebratory 50th Wedding Anniversary Luncheon.

It gave us such pleasure to read that everything went perfectly and that you found the food to be excellent and the service to be unbeatable.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review for The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

For some time our friends have been extolling the virtues of the Victoria Hotel in Sidmouth. We have just had a four day break there and all the praise was justified. It is a very nice building in an excellent location. We had a room with a sea view; the room was all one could have wanted and the staff looked after it and us wonderfully. The meals were of a very high standard as was the service. We did enjoy the putting green and both pools were appreciated for their quality and temperature. We can not fault the hotel or its friendly and helpful staff and we will certainly return! Our friends were right it is worth visiting. And Sidmouth is a nice town in a very nice part of Devon. We couldn't have wanted more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful ‘5 Star’ review for the Victoria Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It was gratifying to read that upon accepting your friend’s recommendation you enjoyed a short break with some lovely sea facing accommodation, a dining experience of a high standard and were able to enjoy some of the many leisure facilities we have to offer, including the putting green and the pools.

Your high praise for the service you received from our hard-working staff was very welcome and has been passed on to all. It was greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review for The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We’ve just returned from a magical week at The Victoria. I’ve been visiting to the hotel since I was a child and this year returned with my toddler.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Cliff, the head doorman, who has been there since I was little and were delighted to be told by the lovely staff on reception that our room was ready early – so we could really settle in straight away. We were very pleased with the room, which had recently been refurbished. Great size, lovely views and very comfortable beds.

The food served in the hotel is simply incredible – everything was cooked to perfection, whether it be toast in the morning or lamb in the evening... even the sandwiches at lunchtime are unforgettable!

We also ordered a meal from the kids menu for my toddler in the early evening. He loved everything he had and is now so used to the high standards of food served at The Victoria that he’s refusing to eat his usual dinners at home!

The facilities are great – the indoor and outdoor pool were very quiet during our visit so we often had them to ourselves. The putting green with its beautiful views over the coastline is immaculately kept. There’s plenty of room inside the hotel to sit down and relax and take in the surroundings. We were planning on visiting some of the other towns nearby during our visit but were so content and relaxed at The Victoria that we didn't touch our car at all.

Every single member of staff that we encountered were fantastic and so friendly - it’s nice to stay at a hotel where many of the staff have been working there for years.

To summarise; a fantastic hotel, wonderful staff, delicious food, great facilities and an incredible location – I’d recommend it to anyone.

We can’t wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review for the Victoria Hotel after your family’s recent stay with us. It has always been our pleasure to welcome guests back and even better when we are introduced to the next generation.

We were delighted to read that you spent a wonderful week with us, finding your accommodation to be very pleasing and comfortable, with an incredible dining experience, and that you were able to enjoy many of the wonderful facilities that we have to offer.

Your praise with regards to our hard-working staff were a pleasure to read and have been passed on to all. They were most appreciated, particularly by Cliff, our Head Doorman and all our other loyal staff members.

Thank you again for writing such a glowing review for The Victoria, and we look forward to welcoming your family back again for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our first stay at The Victoria was as long ago as 1961! Recently we have stayed for 5 nights in the
Spring, and occasionally later in the year as well. We do not repeat hotel stays unless we are very
happy there, which we are at the Victoria. We love the ambience, especially the flowers all around,
and the bedroom accommodation. The staff are so welcoming and attentive. The views from the
Hotel are great. Just one disappointment in 2014 - the food variety. For a Hotel by the seaside we
expected more and better fish. Flat fish, such as sole, and Dover sole or brill were notably
absent from the dinner menu, and we had some difficulty in making a choice of staters and main
courses. Improvement is necessary - take a look at what is on offer at the other hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your ‘5 star’ review for the Victoria Hotel after your stay with us earlier this year.

It is always our pleasure here at The Victoria to welcome back long-standing guests such as yourselves, and we were delighted to see that you still find the ambience and your accommodation as lovely as ever and you have enjoyed the glorious views of Lyme Bay from the Hotel.

We were however, disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your dining experience as usual this time. Your observations with regards to our menu choices have been taken on board, and we thank you again for bringing them to our attention.

Your comment with regards to our wonderful staff members was wonderful to read and has been passed on. They are always gratefully received and on this occasion particularly by our superb in-house Florist team.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for The Victoria, and we all look forward to welcome you back for another stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We live in a nearby town and always use the Victoria for family celebrations, taking visitors for afternoon tea and occasionally an intimate dinner for two! As ever, at our last family dinner at the end of May, we found a relaxing atmosphere, spot-on service with a smile - not intrusive but always there when needed - and the cuisine was second to none. There was entertainment in the terrace bar too if you wanted it. Yes, it does have 'old world charm' and gentlemen do wear ties for dinner but it's definitely not stuffy! They've got it just right. We'll be back, but we'll try not to be last out of the bar next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athenafran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review for the Victoria Hotel after your Family Dinner in May.

As returning guests of ours, we were delighted to read that you found the atmosphere to be relaxing and the cuisine in the Jubilee Restaurant to be second to none. We do ask gentlemen to wear jackets and ties as we feel this complements the overall dining experience, and are pleased to see that this is welcomed by yourselves.

Of all your wonderful comments, those regarding the service you received from our hardworking staff members were the most pleasing to read, and they were greatly appreciated by all.

Thank you again for your most wonderful review for The Victoria and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £207 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing