We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfy but a bit sedate!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very comfy but a bit sedate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed for 1 night in a very nice room with sea view, the huge bed was very comfy, the room nicely furnished, but found the atmosphere a little bit sedate, lots of elderly residents, no evening entertainment. Dinner was OK but nothing special. Not sure if we would return here or even to Sidmouth as there is just no life in the town after dark, we are not teenagers looking for discos and clubs but just like to see a bit of evening entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    149
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
172
405
35
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the north
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Stayed here for four nights over bank holiday.
The hotel is very old school,beautifully furnished.Our room overlooked the sea and was spotless,daily maid and turndown service each day.
we stayed half board which included a four course dinner each night .
The food was superb with plenty of choice.
All staff were happy,polite and nothing too much trouble.
I would love to stay there again

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernlass52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel is excellent, the staff, cleanliness and food. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. Dinner was excellent. Only fault is the bathroom, shower poor and a shower curtain instead of a screen, which for a hotel of this standard needs updating. The position of the hotel overlooking the sea is superb.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Nothing was too much trouble for the efficient staff at this splendid hotel. Although at first sight the ambience appears to be very formal, in fact it disguises a warm and friendly approach to its guests. We stayed two nights over the Easter break and were impressed by so much - the beautiful setting, clean and comfortable rooms, modern bathroom with luxurious towels and bath products, spacious and elegant public rooms ... The dining experience was exceptional - attentive waiting staff and truly first-class food consisting of several courses, followed by coffee and petit fours in the lounge. We were entertained by live music in the dining room and then a quiz after dinner.

The swimming pool is small and fairly chilly, and unfortunately the spa pool was out of action. Our only negative experience was that we had booked the sauna but no-one had remembered to switch it on, but this was fairly swiftly remedied.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Our 17 strong family party descended upon the hotel during the busy Easter period when most catering establishments are at thier busiest, it has to be said that they did'nt bat an eye lid at our collection of teenagers and babies and the staff throughout the hotel were superb. Previous reviews have remarked upon the fact that most of the residents tended to be pretty old and I suppose that at certain times of the year this will be so,however, during our five night stay there were a large number of young children,babies and young couples who all seemed to mix in well enough, certainly I never heard anyone voice a complaint, in fact the more elderly residents seemed to enjoy the company of the various children. The restaurant staff were most helpful and the food was of a high standard throughout our stay, we used the indoor pool, organised our own table tennis tournament and we " oldies " thrashed the young on the putting green, all in all a most enjoyable visit ! Mathew Raistrick, the General Manager runs a very tight ship here, we have been visiting the hotel for more than half a century and he seems to look younger at every visit, I am sure that his hands on approach is the secret to this fine hotel's well deserved success, we shall return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iaindinnes_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Our first visit to Sidmouth and we were very pleasantly surprised. This is a very good traditional hotel with excellent standards of staff courtesy, cleanliness and comfort. Quality does not come cheap.

The restaurant rule on wearing a jacket and tie seemed a little dated but sets the tone, based on traditional values - including very small after dinner coffee cups! Our request to eat off the a la carte seemed to cause some initial confusion but was smoothly remedied, and we had an excellent meal.

  • Liked — Comfort Quality and courtesy
  • Disliked — Bathroom a bit on the small side - constraints of the building
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choosyhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challenger08
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

Stayed here on business while in the area. An outstanding experience. Room was fabulous - on the second floor, facing to the sea, with a private balcony. Have never been in a cleaner room - spotless. Great desk with plenty of room to work and good access to plugs etc for computers. Wireless broadband available (BT Openworld for which you will need to purchase a card from reception). My room was extremely well appointed - great bed, two easy chairs and table, very large double wardrobes. Dressing gowns, complimentary slippers, box of chocolates, fruit bowl. Bathroom was brilliant - cean, everything provided, great shower.
Food is first class. I had room service owing to work commitment, but the food and service was faultless. Great selection from the menus.
Every member of staff excelled themselves in customer care, from the welcoming and efficient reception staff, to the night porter who welcomed me back in following a very late-night seaside walk. Breakfast dd not disapoint - first class again, and the dining room was lovely.
This is a great place to stay for a seaside break. Although I stayed in February, was able to sleep with the window (facing out to my balcony) open all night with the very pleasant sound of the sea washing onto the beach. Sidmouth is a very quiet town (at least in February!) and this is an ideal place for a relaxing, peaceful break. I noticed there was a more mature profile to the clientele - this is the norm I was told - I am 47 and was the youngest person. However, I would most certainly stay here again, and am already making plans to return there with my wife on a weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank challenger08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 5 acres of manicured gardens, the Victoria welcomes guests with a unique blend of hospitality, comfort and style. Perfectly located on Sidmouth's beautiful seafront esplanade, for many years the Victoria has been owned and managed by the Brend family - Devon and Cornwall's leading family hoteliers. Much loving care and attention has been lavished upon this fine establishment and it's no wonder that it enjoys a reputation as one of England's finest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing