We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Dukes

Dukes
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and Esplanade, Dukes is a family friendly inn offering relaxed dining, drinks and accommodation all year round.
London
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We ate here on a whim and have to say it was a good choice. Service was great, food was tasty and not overpriced. Can't say much more than that we liked it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    236
    72
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Views and Lovely Food”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped here for lunch on Sunday and I had the cheese and chutney sandwich which was amazing my husband had a Cheese Ploughmans which was fantastic and my daughter had the Chicken Salad which she thought was fab. We sat outside with our two dogs and it was a lovely atmosphere staff very friendly will defo go back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToffeeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxed lunchtime”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

During a day visit to Sidmouth we called into Dukes for a light lunch, young and friendly staff with an extensive menu, all very relaxed and everyone seemed happy and had time to make conversation and ensure the food and service was to our expectations. Very enjoyable

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place for an evening meal.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We went here twice during our week in Sidmouth. Lovely meals both times.
The food came out quickly once our order had been taken. Several drinks weren't available, nothing fancy, ginger ale but it was during & just after folk week so I guess they had run out.
We had to wait a little time for our order to be taken & for our plates to be cleared but we didn't mind too much as we were not in a rush.
The portions were huge & the food was lovely.
When it is busy it can be a little on the noisy side & the arrangement of the tables can mean it is a little bit of a squash to walk through the dining room. They could use more choice for the vegetarians amongst us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastRed8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We only popped into Dukes for a few drinks and ended up staying for a few hours. The staff were polite and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere. We didn't eat, but we would highly recommend Dukes for a few drinks and a laugh.

Helpful?
Thank nwj222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dukessidmouth, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dukes also viewed

 

Been to Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing