We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will probably have to book in the Summer”
Review of Dukes

Dukes
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and Esplanade, Dukes is a family friendly inn offering relaxed dining, drinks and accommodation all year round.
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You will probably have to book in the Summer”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The food was better than I was expecting and the staff, from various parts of the world, were very helpful.
After our first visit we booked to go back the following evening at 6:30pm, but when we got there, they were expecting us at 8:00pm. However, things were quickly sorted out and we sat down to enjoy a very nice meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bvr3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    231
    69
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Four of us who were staying locally tipped up for a drink on a Sunday lunch time. We hadn't intended to eat there but the food coming out of the kitchen looked so good we couldn't resist.
Excellent good value food served by cheerful staff and a decent selection of beers and ciders. What more could you want?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Towcestersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Touristy beach side”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Saturday lunchtime trying to find seating was difficult. We ordered sandwiches which were ok but not great at £7.50 each. Service good but this is a tourist only place to eat. We won't be returning and we are locals.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay and Eat!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from two glorious days in Sidmouth. We stayed at Dukes Hotel where we also ate. The Hotel itself is relatively compact though offers clean comfortable facilities, with stamp for which nothing is too much trouble. Being slightly disable by provided a car parking space for us, and assistance with our bags to our rooms. We chose Seaview rooms, which whilst ours was slightly small, particularly the ensuite shower room. It was clean with an unbelievably comfortable bed and that all requirements we an needed for our stay. Endless supplies of tea and coffee for your room, which was decorated in a relatively modern style. We ate in the bistro style dining room on our first night the menu selection was good and the food provided was well presented and well cooked. Our breakfast comprised of a selection of cooked items together with traditional continental items, they were happy to amend the items on the menu to suit my dietary requirements. I would probably rank of this as the best service I have received in a British Hotel for a long time. The only overall drawback was unfortunate and constant cooking smell in the corridors on the first and second floors which were above the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We ate here on a whim and have to say it was a good choice. Service was great, food was tasty and not overpriced. Can't say much more than that we liked it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dukes also viewed

 

Been to Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing