We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here with my sister who is in a wheelchair for 4 days in May. Very helpful staff all round but particularly Michael, on Reception, who on his way home, collected the wheelchair 'feet' that we'd left at a pub 10 miles away! I was surprised by the quality of the food. We were booked in for half board and ate from the set menu each evening. Good use of seasonal ingredients, perfectly cooked dishes and great puddings! Bedrooms very comfortable. I didn't give it the full five stars as the downstairs décor was not to my liking but this wouldn't put me off making a return visit fairly soon. The staff are a credit to the hotel's owner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cricketmad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just had one of the best hotel Sunday lunches I can remember here at the Riviera. We were the only diners in the restaurant - the terrace was doing a roaring trade. The meal was excellent quality ingredients well prepared and beautifully served. Can't fault it. The Kiwi barman even made me a lemon, lime and bitters to accompany lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GibPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for four days over the bank holiday. I cannot fault anything with this hotel. Service is impeccable in all areas and the food out of this world. Breakfast was vast, afternoon tea was lovely and dinner each night was excellent. We had two sea view rooms which were spacious and offered all the things wou would expect. Housekeeping was top notch. The bar was spacious and offered all that you would wish for. Can wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a sea view room - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Been using this place for years. Best food in Sidmouth without any doubt. Called in on May bank holiday Sunday it was busy but our 5 bar meals were brilliant. Well done on achieving consistent high standards and for having the cleanest loos ever

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Almost by accident we ended up driving through Sidmouth on the way back from the Scarlett in Newquay and fell upon this gem of a hotel. One look at the lunch menu was enough to convince us that we had to eat here. We had missed the usual lunch hours (12-2pm) and so had to dine in the bar area, which was nice and quiet.

We perused the menu while other couples enjoyed their afternoon tea and cakes which, looked like an experience in itself, I can see why this hotel is well regarded for that.

The hotel itself is styled in a classic sense and is well appointed, the view from the hotel is also nice and the general feel of the hotel gives you a warm sense of occasion.

The food we chose was the lambs liver and the crab salad with a sorbet dessert. We were so impressed by the quality of the food, the friendly service and the hotel itself that we will be booking up to come back and stay at the hotel as I need to try their lobster.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carl_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The 4 of us had an excellent meal in lovely surroundings in this grand hotel. Staff were very polite and you could see they were well trained with very efficient service during the night. The food was to a very high standard and was all cooked very nice and in good time. Lamb Shank for main was excellent as well the homemade maple and pecan tart with homemade ice-cream.
We will be recommending to family and friends

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank acproprietors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We just popped in looking for a place for afternoon tea. And did we find it!!! The concierge was a dream and we sat overlooking the promenade whilst presented with a fantastic selection of sandwiches and cakes served in the traditional afternoon tea way.

As with all excellent places our dog was admitted and we enjoyed a couple of hours of easy living. On the basis of this visit the Hotel Riviera will be my first though when I'm next staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £224 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing