We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very overpriced food”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, very overpriced food”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

It was such a lovely sunny day we decided to have lunch outside and enjoy the beautiful view whilst we ate. The waiter made us very welcome and his service was excellent, however the food was overpriced, cold in parts and stodgy. We decided to choose from the smaller light menu and chose fish, chips and mushy peas. When it arrived the mushy peas were piping hot on top but cold underneath, the battered fish looked appetising but although crispy on the outside was very very stodgy on the inside, the chips were chunky and tasted good otherwise I would have returned the meal. The other 2 members of my party fared better than I did but agreed that for the price paid £50 + for 3 small portions this was not good value, especially as we ate at a plastic table and chairs in the open air so did not have the ambience of the normally excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    20
    10
    5
    8
See reviews for
35
99
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Having stayed in numerous types of Hotel in the UK over many years, the friendly welcome and help we received from the staff at the Riviera Hotel was exceptional. From the first phone call to book and subsequent emails about our special requirements all were dealt with promptly & efficiently. On arrival we were greeted by the porter who took our car, parked it in the designated garage & brought up all our luggage to our delightfut first floor suite. At all times the staff were pleasant & helpful. We enjoyed the delicious food and good service. The comfortable lounge had good seating in a tastefully decorated room. The whole hotel showed that it was run by dedicated owners for whom nothing was too much trouble to ensure guests comfort
A big thank you to the Riviera from an elderly couple!

Room Tip: First floor suite is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Extractor fans left on for hours. Noise and tv from room above.We work hard and decided to treat ourselves to a 3 night 4 star luxury break. We had virtually no sleep and for the first time
ever we complained in a hotel. The owner is in complete denial that anything could be wrong.
He asked us to give him 2 weeks to investigate. We have heard nothing nor do we expect to.We have stayed in many hotels and accept that no hotel is going to be like home and you make allowances, but excessive noise at night and every night is unacceptable.This room no 202 otherwise known as the Knowle Suite was £420 a night and for that sort of money you should be able to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 202 unless you are deaf
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
72 Thank sueandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelrivieraltd, Owner at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Sir and Madam

On being informed of your complaint I made an appointment with you and visited your room on the morning of 27th May, the second day of your stay. Both you and your wife were present at this meeting and you explained to me that your wife had been kept awake by a fan in the room next door. At our meeting you accepted that the noise was not apparant in the room on the morning of our meeting. I activated the fan in the room next door which is timed to run for ten minutes and still the noise could not be heard in your room.
As a precautionary measure I turned the fan off in the room next door and I personally checked all the bathroom fans in the vicinity of your room. As all of our rooms have been recently refurbished I was able to report to you that I was unable to identify any fault which related to your complaint.
On the day of your departure you complained to my receptionist that although the fan next door had been turned off your wife could still hear a noise. I am also mindful that you had previously confirmed to me that you were slightly hard of hearing and therefore did not hear the noise yourself. I telephoned you on the evening of Wednesday 29th May and explained that I would monitor the situation and would telephone you in approximately two weeks to discuss my findings. The purpose of this was to allow me time to talk to each guest who occupied your room following your departure in an attempt to verify your complaint.
I have spoken personally to Mr Spackman, Mr Goodwin and Mr Gillespie all guests who have occupied Room 202 with their wives since your departure and I am pleased to confirm that none of these guests have heard any fan like noise in the room.
The above guests are prepared to supply written evidence to support my statement.
I will continue to monitor this room in the weeks ahead but feel that it is most unlikely that I will be able to give you a satisfactory explanation.
In view of this I would ask you to retract this review as I do not consider the content to be entirely correct.
I am sorry that you feel I have disappointed you.

Yours sincerely

Peter S Wharton
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here with my sister who is in a wheelchair for 4 days in May. Very helpful staff all round but particularly Michael, on Reception, who on his way home, collected the wheelchair 'feet' that we'd left at a pub 10 miles away! I was surprised by the quality of the food. We were booked in for half board and ate from the set menu each evening. Good use of seasonal ingredients, perfectly cooked dishes and great puddings! Bedrooms very comfortable. I didn't give it the full five stars as the downstairs décor was not to my liking but this wouldn't put me off making a return visit fairly soon. The staff are a credit to the hotel's owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cricketmad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just had one of the best hotel Sunday lunches I can remember here at the Riviera. We were the only diners in the restaurant - the terrace was doing a roaring trade. The meal was excellent quality ingredients well prepared and beautifully served. Can't fault it. The Kiwi barman even made me a lemon, lime and bitters to accompany lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GibPLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here for four days over the bank holiday. I cannot fault anything with this hotel. Service is impeccable in all areas and the food out of this world. Breakfast was vast, afternoon tea was lovely and dinner each night was excellent. We had two sea view rooms which were spacious and offered all the things wou would expect. Housekeeping was top notch. The bar was spacious and offered all that you would wish for. Can wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a sea view room - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury
Level Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

Been using this place for years. Best food in Sidmouth without any doubt. Called in on May bank holiday Sunday it was busy but our 5 bar meals were brilliant. Well done on achieving consistent high standards and for having the cleanest loos ever

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank foodlover079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.0 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riviera, with its echoes of the South of France and prime position on the seafront, is the choice for the discerning in search of relaxation and quieter pleasures. Many bedrooms have been recently refurbished, so, whether you stay on holiday or on business you will be treated to the kind of friendly personal attention that can only be found in a private hotel of this quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sidmouth
Hotel Riviera Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing