We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveller rating
178
25
9
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
25
9
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaenjoy the sea viewred arrowsshortbread biscuitswatching the worldspecial birthdaywonderful hotelcourse dinnersunday lunchfirst classevery member of staffnothing too much troublesouth coastfluffy towelscomfortable loungewonderful foodvisited this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 226 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Clevedon in Avon over Pre and New years eve. Whilst we were there we travelled down to Sidmouth for the day. We had lunch at the Riviera, where we have stayed in the past. We had lunch, which as expected to be wonderful, based on our previous experience's. Attention to detrail was faultless, the service was impeccable and not intrusive. The food was wonderful. We hope to stay theire during the new year break again either this year or next. This is truly a marvellous place to expoerience service and quality of a bygone age. A delight for any traveller.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea completes the experience.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was my first visit to Sidmouth and this hotel. The staff were really outstanding, polite with excellent attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious and enough to keep me going all day. The bedroom was large and extremely comfortable, at the front of the hotel over looking the sea. It was quiet with great views. The bathroom was immaculate, with lots of warm fluffy towels. I would recommend this hotel for a quiet and very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JanetNeale62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent value and excellent location.

This Hotel was decorated well and the staff and service were excellent. The presentation of the food was good.

One of the best Christmas meals I have had - this Hotel is open to non-residents and well as residents.

Room Tip: Lovely view of the sea
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lazybonestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Whilst I am local and know the hotel well I was joined by 6 other Somerset cricket fans from around Devon & Somerset for our informal mid winter lunch.It is something we have done for some years at various venues around the west country but I have to say that we all agreed that this was the best.We chose from the Hotel's special Christmas Menu and each of the five courses was a delight.The monkfish was exceptionally good.As always the service at the Riviera is unbeatable from all respects.Whilst it is a lengthy trip for some of our party we hope to come again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerekTarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Yet again lunch here was good. Although only a sandwich, this does not affect the good service, friendly staff. Treated like part of the family. Warm welcome. Everywhere is always so clean.Well done. Will return.

Room Tip: Only went for lunch.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews