We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Inn

Swan Inn
Ranked #22 of 78 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Charming pub dating back from the 16th Century just minutes from the seafront, opposite a ford across the River Sid, the Swan is a relaxed and friendly pub offering a warm welcome to all visitors and locals alike. Traditional quality pub food, with an ever changing menu and seasonal specials, served every lunchtime and evening either in the bar or in the beautiful beer garden with its award winning floral displays.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Smashing little pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The beer is excellent, the atmosphere and people friendly too. The food was OK but not outstanding and, best of all, they had an old-fashioned space invader machine which certainly took me back quite a few years!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank meggie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    79
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a pleasant place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

A proper old-fashioned pub - they serve food and Youngs ales seven days a week - we go to Sidmouth perhaps three or four times a year and eat in the Swan a least once during each visit - we can categorically say we have never had a bad meal there and the service and atmosphere are just great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MuddyFox2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very good food. Smallish menu changed every day. Very nice publican and staff, really friendly.
Can get busy and noisy in bar. Smallish Separate dining room..
Must Book to be guaranteed a table. Obviously liked by locals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnM297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taunton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A proper pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Went here with friends on the Friday night. Sat in the beer garden with pooch (who was welcomed in the bar as well) and enjoyed the Young's ales and a lovely Thatchers cider (bit strong...be careful!) Intended to go on somewhere else to eat but was enjoying the atmosphere so much stayed here. I had Trio of sausages and mash, wife had sea food salad. Both were great and plentiful. Expect to pay about a tenner a head.
We lliked the place so much we ended up back there early Saturday evening until late (how late I can't really remember!) Great food,beers and staff in a proper pub. Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbscrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We ate here on Saturday evening and had a fabulous meal! We met with friends there and had a few drinks first. Great atmosphere.
The food was delicious and very good value, not expensive at all.
I recommend the cheese board!
We will definitely going back!

Helpful?
Thank HEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing