We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food at very reasonable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidmouth Tandoori

Sidmouth Tandoori
Ranked #11 of 78 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the town centre of Sidmouth, opposite the Sidmouth Conservative Club and cinema.
Belfast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We regularly eat Indian food and this was definitely one of the best. We didn’t realise it operated a 'bring your own alcohol' but there is a Tesco Express right next door. You can also purchase soft drinks in the restaurant. The restaurant is quite small but they do take bookings. I would definitely visit again and would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    58
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“How can food be this good?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just incredible food. Take your own alcohol and have an incredible value meal which will knock your socks off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gazania186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing curry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Came here on the off chance and ate a curry in. I had a chicken Korma and asked for a bit of spice in it! Was amazing! Best I've had! Keep it up guys!

Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and my partner have regularly ordered take out food from tandoori. All I will say is never again.

We have recently had a bad experience where we were not charged correctly and the order was completely messed up. When I rung up to query this, the staff were extremely unhelpful. After speaking to a number of staff, and explaining what had happened I eventually got cut off. Even though they had previously written down my number they never called me back, when I rung them back their was the feeble excuse that the use of the card machine cut the phone off......I maybe wrong but I am not aware this happens! There apology was also as bad as the excuse. I found the staff to be extremely rude and very unhelpful which did not help the issue of we were missing food.

I have also recently found their pricing extremely high for what you actually get and their has been a noticeable change in there food, for example I use to order the korma but had to stop as the chicken tasted odd on a number of occasions.

We will not be ordering here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c19thlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Had better..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Went hear on Saturday for early meal. Very busy place only a 22 seat restaurant but phone was red hot for takeaway. Bring your own drink is a great idea. The food was okay but we both agreed the mixed kebab and curry were underseasoned . The best part was the naan bread, fresh and probably the best i`ve ever had (outside of India) but i can`t rate a meal just by the quality of bread alone. I`m sure this place is busy no matter about the reviews, everyone loves a ruby..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidmouth Tandoori also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Sidmouth Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing